My Humble Opinion Movie Review: Jumanji: Welcome to the Jungle

in #movies7 years ago (edited)

Midst the battle of the Star Wars fans, I feel like one movie was dramatically overlooked this Christmas Season.

Should you see Jumanji? Heck Yes

4BAD108C-E116-457C-993C-D319EEAF4552.jpeg

While angry fans screamed at Star Wars, I haven’t met a single Jumanji fan that has complained about this film. The cast was phenomenal especially Jack Black. Just seeing Jack Black act like a cheerleader stuck in his body made the price of admission worth it.

I went to see this movie knowing exactly what it would be. And I got what I wanted and more. I spend a lot of time analyzing film and cinematography and I realized while watching this film, that sometime I get too serious about filmmaking. Everything doesn’t have to be a deep and gritty search through the human soul, and that’s easy to forget. I go to movies mostly to learn something but I can’t forget it’s also about entertainment, it’s about fun.

Entertaining: 8/10
Fun adventure flick with hilarious acting, great character moments and a satisfying ending.
Critically: 4/10
Cinematography was nothing new, generic and predicable story line, a few moments really should have been pushed or removed

This is my first movie review and I want to explain how i rate movies. I usually think about two things: Was it entertaining? Was it critically good?

Entertaining would be a more personal question on whether I was entertained watching the movie. Not whether it was like “Oscar-worthy” or mind blowingly beautiful, but more was I immersed in the fun/emotions. Would I watch this movie again? For example, watching Pacific Rim, I was very entertained but i knew the movie wasn’t about to win Emmy for best picture. But I just had so much fun.

Critically rating comes from my studies filmmaker side. Does it have real emotional depth? Was it cinematically impressive? Will be remembered as a beautiful classic like Citizen Kane? Is every frame a painting? Jumanji is a great example of a movie that has little critically good stuff but is most just a generic rehashing of old stereotypes and character arcs.

Anyways, feel free to agree or disagree in the comments. I love movie discussions so feel free to argue with me. But let’s keep it civil, make sure you say your reasons! Thanks.

-The Artlaw

Sort:  

Congratulations @theartlaw! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 58799.78
ETH 3205.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29