My tribute to Schwarzenegger's Predator 1987steemCreated with Sketch.

in #movies7 years ago (edited)

"Get to the choppa!"

An unforgettable line from an amazing film which had all the hallmark qualities of a 'Shakespearean' play.

It is a tale of subterfuge, betrayal, warfare, comradery, masculinity, sacrifice and redemption. The overcoming of the ultimate adversity, in an environment where mere survival is no guarantee.

Set in the dense Val Verde jungles of South America, an elite military search and rescue team are tasked by the CIA with an official mission of rescuing an embassy official being held by rebel insurgents.

Under the cover of darkness the team descends via military choppers into enemy territory. It is in this scene that we see the first signs of tension arise between team outsider CIA liaison, 'Colonel Dillon', and the unit members - all the while 'Long Tall Sally' plays on radio and gunner 'Blaine Copper' captivates his comrades with 'chewing tobacco' and claims of sexual prowess and stature.

After abseiling to ground and posing for a few more 'bicep and gun' shots , the team stumble upon a chopper wreckage with 3 skinned corpses inside. Team leader 'Dutch' identifies the bodies as US Army Special Forces. Unbeknownst to the team, they are now being tracked with 'thermal imaging' by an unseen observer!

Onward to the insurgent village -


Dutch conceives a cunning plan to distract the enemy!

Allowing Blaine Copper and the rest of the team time to blow the rebels to smithereens!

"I ain't got time to bleed"

Tensions rise when Dutch confronts Dillon, who admits the mission was a setup to retrieve intelligence, after the previous team he had sent failed.

With an insurgent named Anna as a captive the team must now make their way to the extraction point through jungle few would dare risk.

"You lose it here, you're in a world of hurt." whispers Blaine Copper to medic Mac Elliot.

When Anna escapes and is chased by radio operator Rick Hawkins - they are ambushed by an invisible creature. It spares Anna but kills Hawkins and drags his body away. Anna would later reveal to the team "It changed colours, like a chameleon, it use the jungle".

In a hunt for Hawkins body, Blaine is killed by the creature's 'plasma' weapon. An enraged Mac startles the creature initiates a fire fight, but the creature escapes.

However, the gun fight revealed a green luminescent blood...

()

Leading to one of the greatest cinematic epiphanies of all times.

"If it bleeds... we can kill it!" - Dutch.

With a newfound understanding that the films antagonist is a 'hunter' the team set a series of traps using themselves as bait. And whilst these traps fail, Mac is able to track this demon into the jungle with the view to avenge the death of his close friend. In an emotional moment of redemption and forgiveness Dillon aids Mac in the suicidal pursuit.

Meanwhile as the four remaining survivors attempt a dash to the extraction choppers, tracker Billy Sole loses hope and sacrifices himself to the creature to bide time for the others.

Billy's last stand!

Undeterred the camouflaged creature continues its pursuit of the the remaining team members - killing the injured explosives expert Jorge "Poncho" Ramirez. And as Anna turns to to pick up his weapon, Dutch, realising that the creature does not attack 'unarmed prey', kicks it out of hand ordering her to "go... get to the choppa"


Dutch evades the creature by throwing himself down a waterfall.

The creature pursues Dutch into the water but in doing so its cloaking suit short circuits - revealing an alien being, the Predator.

Dutch discovers that the creature cannot locate his heat signature when he is covered with mud. With this new advantage, Dutch crafts a bow, explosive arrows and traps, then lures the Predator with a war cry.

A David v Goliath battle is initiated and damage is inflicted on both sides, however Dutch is eventually trapped.

In a moment of manly emotion, the Predator acknowledges that Dutch is a worthy adversary and discards its mask and weapon - engaging Dutch in hand-to-hand combat to the death.

Almost beaten, Dutch lures the Predator into a trap - dropping a massive counterweight on the alien.

As the Predator lays dying, Dutch asks "What the hell are you?", but it simply repeats the question in garbled English before activating a self-destruct device, echoing Billy's laughter as the countdown begins.

Dutch runs and leaps for cover just as the self-destruct device explodes in a mushroom cloud.

The film ends as Dutch is picked up by his commander, General Phillips, and Anna in the chopper.

And this my friends, ends my tribute to Arnold Schwarzenegger's - Predator - one of my many favourite movies.

I am... SirKnight

Sort:  

And you officially just posted my favorite post Ive seen on here...did you actually just write out a sweet summary for Predator. I lol'd when I realized what you were doing. AWESOME work. seriously. RESTEEM!!!

Thank you so much for this comment meme.for.steem. I was worried, the post was going nowhere - then I wake up this morning and WOW!! I owe you mate and probably a few others too. But I really appreciate this comment. Predator was a memorable part of my life growing up and I really enjoyed rewriting the story as a tribute. SK.

YES!!! You made a killing on that! Wow. Good job good job.
That was a really good idea to write about though.
I'm thinking a Ghostbusters...maybe a Goonies tribute! F*ck did I love the Goonies!

HEY YOU GUUUUYYYS...

Goonies - now you are talking! Fantastic movie - watched it over and over. If you don't do the tribute - I will in a week or so. Let me know. SK.

OK might avoid the close-ups of Sloth though - don't want to scare the audience. Did you see my Star Trek post by the way? Give it a Resteem and I will return the favour. SK.

I gave it a resteem! I see you resteemed mine. Thank you, sir...knight! ha
It would be nice if there was a way to tell when your posts have been resteemed.

No, you can do the Goonies one if you'd like. Its your thing!...and apparently a very profitable one!
But it does give me ideas of what I should be looking to do!

Terrific mate - I will give it a go in a week or so. I am looking forward to seeing you thing too. SK.

Great tribute! One of my favorite films too - what did you think of the AVP series?

Thanks imagin8orr - I like all the Predator and Alien movies to varying degrees - but the first two in each were really the standouts IMO. Thanks for commenting mate and following. SirKnight.

Me too. I was disappointed by Predator 2, but found redemption in the first AVP. I haven't seen the newest Alien yet, but I heard it's a good throwback to the originals. Have you seen it? If so, what are your thoughts?

they could have named it duke nukem!

'Predator' by any other name would still be 'Predator'. They originally called it 'Hunter' - be changed name to 'Predator' before the release. I am sure there are just as many explosions in 'Predator' as 'Duke Nukem'. Thanks for the comment cfh.

thanks for your reply! you know this movie quite well! and yes there's as many explosions as duke nukem, but so much less pretty babes!

I see. Yes only Anna in Predator.

"Same kinda moon, same kinda jungle.."
"..You pull that shit again and I'll bleed you, real quiet, and leave you here"

some great lines from that movie.

So many great lines, just so many. Thank for replying with a couple brucebrownftw. I don't believe I have made your acquaintance until now. I have voted you up and will be following. Hope to check out a few of your posts later today mate. SirKnight.

Predator is a good movie. I recommend it.

Hi Sesangsokuro - thanks for dropping by. I follow all Predator fans mate - hope you don't mind me stalking you too. ;) Regards, SirKnight.

I was follow you already. haha. I might be a stalker too.

Yes it's a good one. Any fan of Predatory is a friend of mine. Following @onlyvoluntary. SirKnight.

You just paid am awesome tribute to a timeless classic. Good job. I look forward to seeing more posts from you

Thanks Andrefalegan - following you back mate. SirKnight.

Great tribute @sirknight I remember as a kid this movie was released in video stores the same week as Robocop in the UK for a young fan of action movies it was a memorable moment! So is this the greatest movie of Arnolds career or does T2 beat it?

Hi Gamma-rat - you pose a tough question. Box office success probably gives it to T2. But raw emotional response for me it is hard for any Arnie movie to beat Predator - keeping in mind I was 10. Thanks for commenting - following you. If you get a chance you might want to check out my latest blog on re. Star Trek. SK.

I agree actually but I think us Arnie fans who prefer Predator are in the minority! Thanks for following think you took me past 100 :) .... ill be sure to check your other posts.

Seriously the best line ever! I swear I say "Get to the choppa" at least once a day.

For sure Sean - best line, best movie ; ) Thanks for commenting. Following. SirKnight.

Ops forgot still first day here followed :) look forward to reading more of your stuff

No worries mate - enjoy. SK.

Thanks for dropping in mate.

Yes, was excellent, this is my new post https://steemit.com/gaming/@swsmexico/gamer-pc-new-amd-fx-and-xspc ya sabes jejej dale seguirnos y voten para que sigamos dando info

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 57297.27
ETH 3101.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41