There's One Scene In This Movie That Was So Disturbing It Never Made The Final Cut

in #movies7 years ago

When I was younger, I read IT, the famous novel by the reasonably famous writer Stephen King. It scared me, because when I read it I was a teenager and the ideas in the book kind of resonated. It freaked me out, and that was before I watched the TV movie version of the book. That starred Tim Curry, and his version of Pennywise The Clown looked like this:

Pretty scary, right? It worked for me. many, many sleepless nights.

Then the new version came out last year, and it was all so much more scary than the TV version. It wasn't scarier than the book, which was so deeply terrifying that I can almost remember scenes and how they were described today, years after reading them.

The new Pennywise, in case you didn't see it, looked like this:

Scarier, but perhaps in an over-the-top way.

Anyway, Bill Skarsgard, the actor who played Pennywise in the new movie, let slip the details of a scene that was cut in a recent interview for a Variety podcast, saying:

'There's a scene that we shot that was a flashback scene from the 1600s. Where Pennywise was before "Pennywise." And we shot it for additional shooting and the scene turned out REALLY, REALLY disturbing. And It's me ... I'm not the clown, I look more like myself. I'm not gonna spoil what the scene is, because we might use it [in the sequel]. But it's a very disturbing scene, sort of a backstory for what IT is or where Pennywise came from. ... The idea is that IT, the entity, was dormant or resting for thousands of thousands of years and it [the scene] hints on [the founding of Derry].'

So we have a Pennywise from the 1600s. I'm almost 100% certain that scene wasn't in the book.

If you haven't seen the new movie yet, see it as soon as you can, it'll scare you silly.

But if you really want to be scared, read the novel, then track down the Tim Curry version. And then good luck with the sleep thing...

If you liked this post, follow, upvote, comment, resteem...do it all, because I think you're all amazing!!!!

Sort:  

I found the new one was alright, but it might have gone a little heavy on the special effects designed for it being 3D. It sort of took away from it a bit, I thought. I find that with most movies that come out as 3D.... they try too hard to impress.

Totally agree. I remember someone really famous saying that the biggest movies of all time (Star Wars, Jaws, The Godfather) were not made in 3D. Didn't stop them being the biggest movies of all time.

As long as it's a good story, told well, it's a good movie. I saw one movie recently in 3D and it was worse than watching it as a regular showing.

The Tim Curry version looks very dated but the lack of frills of pretty much any kind meant the audience was completely focused on Pennywise. Tim Curry was just plain scary.

Thanks for the comment.

Hello there!

This post has been upvoted as a thank you for supporting @sexywhalebot.

Have a sexy and profitable day! : ]

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61840.18
ETH 2589.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55