👍 SOUTHPAW MOVIE REVIEW: ONE OF THE BEST BOXING/SPORTS MOVIES EVER?!?!?!

in #movies7 years ago (edited)

I decided to rewatch Southpaw (2015), directed by Antoine Fuqua and starring Jake Gyllenhaal as heavyweight champion Billy Hope, a boxer who is forced to change his ways after everything he loves is taken away from him.

I had seen this a couple years ago but forgot most of what happened. That being said, my favorite part of the film is still Gyllenhaal, who brings a Raging Bull feel to the film with his uncontrolled outbursts. 

He is a phenomenal actor who can go from the calm and collected sociopath in Nightcrawler to the troubled high schooler in Donnie Darko. If he wasn't in Southpaw, I don't think I would have liked it as much.

The tragic flaw in Southpaw which really brought it down in my eyes, and I can't stress how vital this is to me when it comes to films, is the erratic cinematography. The camera is constantly moving and changing shots to the point where I became dazed and unaware every couple moments. I understand doing this when it calls for it, like fight scenes and other parts of that nature, but it was for the entire film and detracted from the experience as a whole.

Looking past that error, it's still one of the best sports movies of recent years and shows off once again Gyllenhaal's acting ability. Also included in the cast are Forest Whitaker and Rachel McAdams.

Sort:  

Will give it a watch, one of the only few boxing movies I've never seen.

Definitely @bigdee -- It's well worth it. I love Antoine Fuqua from his immaculate direction of one of my favorite movies of all time, "Training Day"... and Jake nails this one!

Cheers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64182.74
ETH 2768.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66