Two films suggestion - My most underrated and MY favorite movie of all time! Spoiler-free recommendations

in #movies7 years ago

Are you looking for a movie on IMDB and you just can't find anything anymore? I'll try to help you tonight by providing two solid recommendation.

I'm probably watching way too much movie for my own good, but you know what? It's ok! I just love to sit down with the girlfriend and enjoy a good story.

I'll give you two suggestion:
first one is way more popular but it's my favorite movie of all time and if you haven't seen it yet, then it's a must. The movie is just perfect, from picture to story. (I have to admit that I watch this movie at least two or three time every year)
Second one is less known but trust me, it's a gem. The cinematography in this movie will leave you breathless.

If this post gets gets really popular and people asked that I provide more of these "two suggestion" type of post then i'll try to come up with 1 or 2 per week just for you friends :)

I'll try to go with the same pattern: one excellent movie that isn't globally known and one more popular but is a masterpiece that you need to see at least once in your lifetime.

let's get that popcorn ready and cozy up on the couch!


MY favorite movie:

The Shawshank Redemption

director: Frank Darabont

DQmVg4eA9Rpx9xtRHJySaH3SSPbcXkyYrsJHxSFtL3gcHUX_1680x8400.jpg

what's the story:
Chronicles the experiences of a formerly successful banker as a prisoner in the gloomy jailhouse of Shawshank after being found guilty of a crime he did not commit. The film portrays the man's unique way of dealing with his new, torturous life; along the way he befriends a number of fellow prisoners, most notably a wise long-term inmate named Red.

I have to tell you, if you didn't see that movie, then I don't know where to begin.
Story is from a short story written by Stephen King ""Rita Hayworth and Shawshank Redemption" (Which I still haven't red yet... What am I waiting for!!)

Tim Robbins and Morgan Freeman (he's the narrator so as always, it's marvelous) are just fabulous together in this movie. I don't think Tim can do a better acting job than this.
You'll learn to love a lot of the inmate and hate a lot of them too, but you'll probably hate other people from the prison ;)

I know it's a prison movie and you might think your girlfriend might not like it, but trust me, this is different. The story is really intellectual and throughout the story, you'll learn to love Andy Dufresne and Red as you get to know them.

Did you know that This movie didn't even do well in theater!? Some say it's because of the terrible title, no real action or because it was 142 minutes long. But the hype happened when the movie hit tapes (yes VHS) and TV screening!


Underrated movie:

Movie: Cashback (2006)

Director: Sean Ellis

DQmUhTmNoCYGo3MXfbYNTaGAvHGc3o2rDsfQ74beHRaCmVs_1680x8400.jpg

first i'd like to point out that the movie also have a short film (2004). The short film is in the movie actually so I strongly advise to go watch it first as you'll see how the context is very different in the movie even though it's the same shots!

What's the story about?

here's the official synopsis:
When art student Ben Willis is dumped by his girlfriend Suzy, he develops chronic insomnia after finding out how quickly she moved on. To pass the long hours of the night, he starts working the late night shift at the local supermarket. There he meets a colorful cast of characters, all of whom have their own 'art' in dealing with the boredom of an eight-hour-shift.

I won't provide more information about the story because what's really fun about this one is you'll discover how Ben learn to know everyone.
Everything is in Ben perspective and the narration for this movie is superb.

The camera work in Cashback is nothing like your typical indie film. the story is simple but the cinematography is what make that film a small masterpiece.

a small review I found describe the movie like this:
"Imagine Kevin Smith with a background in poetry and painting instead of comic books and bestiality jokes"
I thought it was pretty accurate and funny :)

P.S - it's a little not safe for work as there's some nudity in the movie.


Do you have any movie you'll like to recommend? I'm always on the lookout for those awesome non-blockbuster movie so let me know ;)
Or you'd like to leave a comment about those two movies? go ahead i'd love to read if you saw those yet and if you liked them!

Thanks for reading
Keep on steemin my friends

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57560.27
ETH 2570.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48