1001 Movies #7: Broken Blossoms (1919)

in #movies5 years ago

I'm watching the 1001 Movies You Must See Before You Die in chronological order:

https://www.listchallenges.com/1001-movies-you-must-see-before-you-die-all

Well, I guess this went out of order, although the website has it this way. I'm glad though to have had a break from Griffith films, which dominate the early part of this list. I can see that this does tell a great story and it's groundbreaking cinema. Still, I find it as dull and boring as the other Griffith films I've watched.

I know this apparently makes me a bad film lover, but I can't help being turned away while attempting to sit through this. Perhaps it's the breaks from live action for text describing the plot. I know it's not just that it's silent. I was engrossed though all 7+ hours of Les Vampires. I'm looking forward to movies like Metropolis. But this just doesn't keep my attention so I end up just pushing my way through this.

I guess if anything, I enjoyed the boxing scenes for their early influence on sports and action films.

vlcsnap-2019-09-24-15h30m38s929.png

You can watch the full movie here:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63964.02
ETH 2592.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75