JUMANJI-WELCOME TO THE JUNGLE Movie Review

in #movies6 years ago (edited)

#Jumanji is hilarious, colorful and exciting. However, I wasn't too thrilled on how they worked so hard on modernizing it. Growing up, I loved the original 1995 Jumanji with the late #RobinWilliams. I'm practically a 90s kid and for Sony Pictures to dab their hands in this classic and make it for today's generation is um, irritating. Don't get me wrong, if this was the first one it would have been 100% great. I do have to say the actors and actresses were funny, eye-catching and witty. I enjoyed watching #DwayneJohnson, #KevinHart, #JackBlack and even #NickJonas including the others fight their way through the jungle solving this gaming experience.

View the trailer here..

As seen in the trailers, four highschoolers are brought into detention to clean up only to stumble upon an "old" gaming system then being sucked into the game. Now, comparing this to the original board game scenes in the original Jumanji, where things actually happened in the house, I would prefer it have been kept this way. I am a mom of a 9-year boy and he LOVES to play video games, I get that, but occasionally I would wish he would enjoy boards games as I did as a kid. This generation nowadays is so intuned with technology it blows my mind. I can't lie I love tech too but what happened to daily outside adventures, family game nights--just to name a few. But we can't all have our way, can we? I want to point out that in the original Jumanji, they never explained or showed what the man-child Allan went through or experienced in the game, so I suppose this is the reason why in this new version, the movie focuses on the "in-game" experience. Ok, ok, well played.

In the end, I give this movie a thumbs up for effort and making me laugh because I did honestly enjoy it. It's given a fresh rating of 76% from Rotten Tomatoes, a 6.1/10 rating. 90% of the audience also said they enjoyed it. This PG-13 Adventure film is at the top of the Box Office racking in 10.9m, with it being only 114 minutes long. I am sure this could turn into a 2017 generational classic.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60670.43
ETH 3380.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51