Mortal Kombat – Nostalgia Review and Reboot Movie Update

in #movies7 years ago

Mortal Kombat.jpg

Nostalgia glasses make everything seem much brighter and movies seem much better than they are. Case in point Mortal Kombat which I just rewatched for the I don’t know how many time just for the fun of it. I’m only referring to the first movie only.

And yes, I also used to play the first, second and third game when I was young. By any normal standard this movie is really bad. But, it’s so bad that it’s fun. In the movie Liu Kang (Robin Shou), Johnny Cage (Linden Ashby) and Sonya Blade (Bridgette Wilson-Sampras) are summoned to compete in Mortal Kombat, a one on one series of battles that will determine the fate of the world as forces from Outworld want to take over the planet. It’s not a great plot, but it held the computer games and it holds the movie.

is-the-1995-mortal-kombat-movie-too-much-of-a-classic-to-reboot.jpg

This movie is full of one liners way before Marvel made it a must in each movie. And also, if you are really sensitive person, you will probably be offended by the movie. I can’t even count how many times they referred to the way the female characters look. The fighting sequences are fun as long as you don’t look for logic in them. Sonya Sonya Blade vs. Kano is obviously my favorite fight of the movie, followed by Johnny Johnny Cage vs. Goro – a battle that always makes me laugh. The setting is cheap, the costumes are cheap, but the scenery is beautiful. Also, because the movie came out in 1995 it goes without saying that the CGI is pretty bad, but I feel like I can ignore it.

The best part about this movie is by far the soundtrack. Till this day, I listen to it endlessly. The theme song of this movie is still my favorite theme song of any movie. It’s just so upbeat. It represents the best parts of 90s music in my opinion.

There was a terrible sequel (it didn’t even have a good soundtrack). A tv show which I watched in part, that totally does not make me feel nostalgic when I tried to rewatch it on YouTube. And the franchise has endured with many more games and shows and what not. Now it wants to return to the big screen. However, it is stuck in development hell for a long time. In fact a new movie has been talked about since 2011. A script was written by Oren Uziel and Kevin Tancharoen was hired to direct the movie, but this version of the movie they had in mind never came to life.

In 2015 James Wan was hired to produce the movie. I love James Wan, but he is a very busy man. Currently, he is finishing up Aquaman and he is basically the head of the entire Conjuring Universe. I just don’t see when he will make this movie. Simon McQuoid is rumored to direct the movie. If you’ve never heard of him, it’s because this will be directorial debut, as he comes from the world of commercials. It’s does not sound very promising.

Considering the silly premise of the game and the original movie, I don’t predict a lot of success for this movie, unless the nostalgia effect will bring a lot of people to the cinema. I will definitely be one of those people. I am not sure how many current game players will actually be interested in watching a movie version of this game.

Image sources: 1, 2

Please follow me and upvote my posts to help yourself stay up to date with everything that is nerdy and awesome.

Resteems will also be most appreciated.

See you in my next post.

Sort:  

The movie really was terrible but I can't help but love it! When you say tv show, are you talking about the mini series that machinima released?

I'm talking about Mortal Kombat: Conquest from 1998. It's so bad that it's unwatchable now, but back then I also loved it. From some reason it was really early I had to run home from school to watch it and I would still miss half of the episode.
I still love the original Mortal Kombat movie and watch it at least once a year.

I had no idea that series even existed! I’ll have to check it out.

It's really bad. Also now I understand why my family objected to me watching the show, not the violence, but see-through clothe. But all I remembered was the ending of the show, not sure that will hold up. The entire series is on YouTube,

I didn’t watch the original. Strange. But then, I didn’t play the game either.

I was addicted to action movies and games as a kid. The game was sensational for it's gore, which the movie did not have. You can't just watch it now, it will look like one of the worst 90s action movies.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63493.34
ETH 2578.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79