Captain Marvel Advertising Campaign Has Began

in #movies6 years ago

Although the movie will only hit theaters on March 8, 2019 Marvel is wasting no time is building up hype. Excuse me, building up recognition. Outside of her fan base, which is refereed to as the Carol Corps, not a lot of people know who Captain Marvel/Carol Danvers is. Marvel is trying to make her more recognizable to the general audience. How are they doing that? By sponsoring the American skiing team during the Winter Olympics. The men will be wearing a speed suit with Captain America symbols on them, and the women will be wearing a speed suit with Captain Marvel symbols on them. I think that it is fair to say that in the comics she is as big as Captain America, but in real life she's defiantly not so it's an odd choice to put them together.

Lindsey Vonn, one of the competitors posted on Twitter a first image of her with the suit.

Lindsey Vonn.jpg

Julia Mancuso, another ski racer and Olympic gold medalist according to Wikipedia appeared on the cover of Experience L!fe wearing her Captain Marvel speed suit.

Julia Mancuso.jpg

I am not sure how many people will be watching the Winter Olympics and will care about what the contenders are wearing. But this does remind me of Danica Patrick. Her NASCAR was painted with Wonder Woman logo and she wore a Wonder Woman jacket as well. Wonder Woman fans loved it. I think Marvel is trying to do the same thing, to associate their character with real powerful amazing women. But I think that in both cases, I think that this doesn't reach general audiences even though it's really cool. Also, Danica Patrick appeared less than a month before Wonder Woman was released at the cinema and Captain Marvel is more than a year away.

Marvel is just getting started.

What do you think about it? Is it too soon? Is sport a legitimate place to advertise movies? Are you excited about the Captain Marvel movie?

Please follow me and upvote my posts to help yourself stay up to date with everything that is nerdy and awesome.

Resteems will also be most appreciated.

See you in my next post.

Sort:  

I think it is good to promote this through sports. This gives it the potential to reach new audiences.

For me comics and sports were an either/or thing, but I grew up in the 1970s. The jock and nerd communities did not overlap. Later I had friends who were sports stat nerds (played Strat-O-Matic simulation baseball and such), so the fan communities were not completely separate, even if the practitioner communities were.

Strat-o-matic baseball. Loved it as a kid, about six months ago participated in an online league via their online system. I created a team from the 60's players. Didn't make it to the playoffs, but it was a lot of fun!

Nice post as always.
I hope you don't mind, I challenged you.
Merry Christmas.

challenge me what?
Merry Christmas to you too!

Seven Day Black & White Challenge.
The Challenge:

  • 7 black & white images that represent an aspect of your life
  • Present one image every day for 7 days
  • No people
  • No explanation
  • Nominate someone every day, although anyone can join in
  • Use the tag #sevendaybnwchallenge as one of your five tags.
    :)

Sport is just another form of entertainment. Whether it is auto racing or skiing. It works for me.

I know that when it was first announced some people were angry.

nice post keep it up

Just started following ya. Please consider checking out my page. I’m providibg original content that I think would be a perfect fit here.

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @readingdanvers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61227.60
ETH 3022.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88