Are We Finally Getting the Black Widow Movie We Wanted?

in #movies6 years ago (edited)

Black Widow movie I wanna see.jpg

A few days ago the internet was set on fire as a rumor started circulating that Marvel has hired a screen writer for a Black Widow movie. Our dreams are coming true? I wouldn't go that far for a number of reasons. The first is that the writer is Jac Schaeffer. She may be a woman, but she also wrote the mostly hated Olaf's Frozen Adventure. No experience with big thrillers or action. We don't really want someone who writes Disney princess to write this movie, but apparently it's what we are getting. It also means that we will get the Black Widow movie that the Taika Waititi, the director of Thor: Ragnarok, has envisioned - a comedy. Yes, not the espionage thriller that we wanted. Not even the Budapest movie that we wanted. A comedy. I am already not excited about the movie.
The second reason is that a Black Widow origin movie is already coming out - it's called Red Sparrow. Sure, it's based on a different book that has nothing to do with Marvel comics, but the plot of the origin movie is too similar. So this path is blocked for Marvel, they just waited too long.
I guess that the only reason that Marvel is considering this movie is to appease Scarlett Johansson and get her to sign another multi-movie contract. Yes, it is not a secret that Scarlett Johansson is unhappy about the fact that Black Widow didn't get a solo movie. It's also not a secret that she sells movie tickets, only Marvel movie tickets. Black Widow has a lot fans, and will always have a soft spot of Marvel's first big screen female Avenger. And it's also not a secret that Scarlett Johansson's movie outside of Marvel are just failing. So, all the rumors that say that Scarlett Johansson is actually involved in the production process of the movie is not necessary a good thing. It's just meant to keep her as part of the MCU.
There are only two points of light in this: 1) Marvel, or more correctly Kevin Feige, almost always make excellent movie. 2) This movie may never see the light of day. It didn't get the green light, wasn't officially announced. I prefer a great Black Widow as part of a cast than in a bad standalone movie.
What do you think? What kind of a Black Widow movie do you want to see if any?

Please follow me and upvote my posts to help yourself stay up to date with everything that is nerdy and awesome.

Resteems will also be most appreciated.

See you in my next post.

Sort:  

Let's not be hasty... Marvel is keeping most of Phase 4 under wraps and won't make official announcements for a while. And I really can't believe they'll make the mistake of giving us a Black Widow comedy. Like... really???

@movieholic made two separate posts about Red Sparrow and the Black Widow movie a few days back, and I thought the exact same thing --their plots are just too close. But Marvel can jump through this hoop by not giving us an origin story, just adding that in as flashbacks. That will work too.

Black Widow comedy seems to be their direction and I really hope it will change. I know that they are keeping things under wraps for phase 4, but I think they want the positive publicity what Wonder Woman gave to DC. Black Widow is still their only great female character.

I want to see a good movie. If they can deliver a good stand-alone, I will watch it. I will watch in anyway. But there is potential for a stand alone to be good. In spite of Scarlett...

In spite of her? She's great in action, but terrible at comedy.

I’m not a fan.

I love that Budapest poster, and I'd love to see/read what happened in Budapest! I'm just so curious. No hopes for a (good) film tho.

I wish it was a Budapest movie, but seems like no chance to get one.

This post has received a 2.93 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @readingdanvers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66765.98
ETH 3234.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23