You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Underrated films and hidden gems: Spoiler-free recommendations for those cozy film nights!

in #movies7 years ago

This is a great idea for posts. I entirely agree that much of what the film studios are churning out these days are complete rubbish, appealing to the lowest common denominator of consumer interests. I look forward to more posts!

Sort:  

I think what frustrates me the most is that I am sure that there are TONS of amazing novel stories out there waiting for a chance to be showcased, yet Hollywood seems to be hellbent on pushing this never ending stream of cheesy remakes that nobody asked for: like 3x Ninja Turtle films, Ghostbusters "but with women this time", Power Rangers, Baywatch... seriously?

@rarebooksleuth, a great way to make this series of post more diverse and interactive would be to hear recommendations from other users, so I am all ears!

My recommendation today would be The Invitation, directed by Karyn Kusama, released in 2015. It's a fairly low budge, albeit extremely effective, psychological thriller.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68418.37
ETH 3743.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65