My Top 5 Christmas Movies

in #movies6 years ago (edited)

IMG_4792.jpg

Christmas comes but once a year. For most people, that same rule applies to Christmas movies. There is no better way to get in the spirit then to sit down with your loved ones (or alone for that matter) and enjoy some crucial holiday cinema.

In no particular order-- Here are 5 of my all time favorite movies to watch during the Christmas season. For the most part, this list seems pretty telling of my age.

1. The Santa Clause (1994)
christmas-fantastic-tim-allen-xmas-movie-the-santa-clause-movies-nine-most-magical-clauses-728x409.jpg

As a kid, I wasn't super sold on this movie. I never changed the channel, but it didn't really captivate me. As an adult, I found a whole new love for this movie. The actual basic idea of the story is really original and Tim Allen's style of humor only gets better as the years go by. Some aspects of the movie are a little goofy (anything to do with updating Santa's technology as well as Bernard the elf's haircut) but I forgive them. Most of all, I really love the look into relationships of parents and children of divorce. Sequels.. not so great.

2. The Nightmare Before Christmas (1993)
WHAT-S-THIS-nightmare-before-christmas-32914448-500-300.png

Easily one of my top Tim Burton movies period. It's such a playful and imaginative take on the overall aesthetic and traditions of Christmas. Animation is a treat to watch and the songs haven't left my head since the movie first came out. There were points in the film that used to scare me a little when I was young- basically any scene with Oogie Boogie Man. I haven't watched this movie in years and definitely owe it a revisit.

3. White Christmas (1954)
white-christmas-movie-finale-red-costumes.jpg

Ok so this one I just watched for the first time this year. Good thing too, cause if someone tried to show me some dusty old movie when I was 8 you could have never gotten me to watch it again. But seeing it as an adult I can fully appreciate the real slice of old hollywood that you get from White Christmas. The staging, the singing, the dancing-- It's an old saying, but regarding this style of movie making.. "They don't make em like they used to". Lots of wholesome laughs and a tight little plot. I'd recommend this to anyone over the age of 22.

4. Jingle All The Way (1996)
jingle_all_way_1996_a.jpg

Wow. Just thinking about this movie has me hyped on Christmas. Genius from top to bottom with laughs pummeling you from the unlikely trio of Arnold Schwarzenegger, Sinbad, and Phil Hartman(rip). Each scene stands so well on it's own that they are forever burned into my memory. I've also always been a huge fan of the actual design of the Turbo Man toys that are in the movie. This just might be my all time favorite honestly.

5. Home Alone (1990)
homealone2_620x349.jpg
So funny, so quotable, action packed, thrilling even?? I've always been obsessed with home alone. I wanted all the trinkets Kevin had, I rode down my grandmas stairs, I got super into cheese pizza. It's pretty amazing to think that this entire movie was hinged on the performance of one kid- not to take away from Daniel Stern or Joe Peschi but, if Mcaulay Caulkin had given a lesser performance, this movie may not have been the iconic masterpiece it is today.

HONORABLE MENTIONS
-Christmas with the Kranks
-Muppet Christmas
-Elf
-Scrooged

What holiday movies do you love??

Sort:  

You've got some good ones! The movies where Arnold tries to pass as an everday man is funny in itself but Phil Hartman was brilliant in Jingle All the Way. My favorite Christmas movie is Santa Claus Conquers the Martians. I had heard all the negative reviews and jokes about it before watching but I liked the concept and the Santa was perfect.

I’ve only seen some of the MST3k take on Santa Clause Conquers the Martians but it definitely seems like a true piece of art.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64076.80
ETH 3516.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64