31 Days of Horror: Madman (1981)

in #movies7 years ago

Madman (1981)
Directed By Joe Giannone

images.jpeg

Plot: “Madman Marz.... He’s real!”

The young staff at camp learn of a legendary maniac that murdered his family years ago. Now he’s back and is thirsty for blood. Run!

Reflection: This is a classic video store case of a rough movie having amazing box art. This is an earlier slasher, so I don’t think the formula was completely solidified by this point. Still I find plenty of charm in Madman. Where it lacks in character development and editing, it is pushed along by some cool shots and fun scares. The one part I found hilarious is that Madman Marz is barefoot- I couldn’t help but be distracted by that. This movie should be appreciated as an obscure nugget amongst it’s more successful slasher contemporaries. Madman is available on prime if you want to put something on to check in and out of while you clean the house or something.

Unknown.jpeg

Further Viewing: Friday the 13th, The Prowler, The Burning

Sort:  

Summer camps were always a great setting for horror movies and comedies too! Somehow I missed hearing about this movie growing up. I never got a chance to experience going to a sleep away camp but I wonder how many are left?

They must still be out there somewhere. I went to camp for a couple years when I was young and it was actually a great time. No one got hacked up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64136.76
ETH 3522.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57