31 Days of Horror: Alice, Sweet Alice (1976)

in #movies7 years ago

Alice, Sweet Alice (1976)
Directed by Alfred Sole

Unknown.jpeg

Plot: When the favorite child Karen gets murdered at her first communion, people begin to suspect her dark, jealous, older sister Alice. Their mother refuses to believe Alice would do such a thing, but strange coincidences just keep pointing back to Alice. Her aunt, her tenant, the police, all think she is guilty. A mother faces the horrible possibility that her first born daughter may in fact be a killer.

Reflection: I just watched this for the first time this month. I liked it much more than I thought I would! The film does a great job building some erie tension and should be commended on the camera work. Pacing is good and ends with a classic 70's twist that you could never see coming. This film has certainly established itself in the horror community but I think it's really successful in the way that it plays less like a horror movie and more of a mystery/thriller. Definitely worth noting that Alice is played by a very young Brooke Shields. It's available to stream on Amazon Prime for anyone interested!

9763db828266eae25be4757aefa7bcd424388121_hq.gif

Further Viewing: The Omen, We Need to Talk About Kevin, The Good Son, The Orphanage

Unknown-1.jpeg

Sort:  

Actually Brooke Shields played the sister, I made the same mistake when I first watched it. That line the old lady delivers at the end has stuck with me.

Ah true! Good catch

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64136.76
ETH 3522.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57