Month of Mel announcement!

in #movies6 years ago

I am the biggest Mel Gibson fan I know. I think he's one of the strongest actors of our generation, and easily one of the most astonishing directors of all time. His second film as a director was "Braveheart", which I think is the film that exemplifies his immense talent the best.

No one will ever remake "Braveheart", and if they did it wouldn't be anywhere near as impressive as the amount of plates Mel had to keep spinning by utilizing traditional stunts, effects, a ton of real horses, and ridiculous crowds of extras, all costumed and makeupped to the nines, not to mention the amazing balls out acting that Mel was doing. Its really impossible to overstate how outstanding an achievement the film was and is.

I celebrate his entire catalog, and I'll discuss his work at length to anyone who will listen. So to really jump into this new outlet, I intend to bring my Mel Gibson themed blogs to Steemit! In March, I did a daily Mel Gibson movie review on my Facebook page, calling March the "Month of Mel", with an enthusiastic reception. September will start another "Month of Mel", where I'll be doing reviews of his work, but also discussions of a decidedly less cinematic variety.

I believe Mel Gibson's "controversies" were trumped up violations of his privacy. I believe looking at hacked pictures of Jennifer Lawrence sucking a dick is an appropriate thing to look at. It was private. Its not my business. And most people believe that looking at those pictures would be violating. But Mel Gibson shows some anger and passion in an argument with a using fucking Russian whore who's recording him secretly, and uses some racial language, and we all listened to them, hemmed and hawed, and then we watched them force Detective Riggs to turn in his badge and gun for a few years, only letting the man into shittier sequels of shitty movies, like "Machete", "The Expendables", and "Daddy's Home". Now I'm forced to have those unwatchable movies in my home blu-ray library. There's few things more tragic than a movie with Mel Gibson that sucks. Thankfully those shitshows gained him the clout and good will to create (and get distribution for) "Hacksaw Ridge".

As for the stuff he said when he got his DUI, well... Lets just say I'm gonna defend him and vilify the opportunistic cop, a poor excuse for a public servant who tattled to TMZ about the ramblings of an intoxicated man.

For those of us fortunate enough to have seen last years phenomenal "Brawl in Cell Block 99" or his first film, "Bone Tomahawk", we know S Craig Zahler is one of the most interesting writer/directors out there, and the upcoming "Dragged Across Concrete" will have Mel back in a gritty and brutal film, for the first time since 2010s "Edge of Darkness".

So check me out September 1st for the kickoff of the second "Month of Mel".

To read my first Month of Mel entries, check out the archive at my page "Passionate: The Works of Mel Gibson" at filmelgraphy.wordpress.com

1928096.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @nurplinum! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61227.60
ETH 3022.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88