Treevenge is Treemendous! (movie review)

in #movies7 years ago (edited)

Treevenge is a dish best served cold, preferably on a snowy Christmas morning. At least, that's what the trees in this short film seem to think.

From Hobo With a Shotgun director, Jason Eisner, comes this yuletide tale of an x-mas tree killing spree. Apparently they don't take too kindly to being chopped down every holiday season and ultimately ending up in a wood chipper. With a major woodchip on their shoulders, the trees look to put an end to this tree torture by launching a surprise attack on the humans that ends in a bloody massacre.

Warning: Even babies aren't safe from the carnage.

You might want to consider getting an artificial tree after watching this. 

Fans of the Trailer Park Boys will recognize Jonathan Torrens & Sarah Dunsworth who play a married couple with two children, out shopping for a nice Christmas tree. Little do they know that when they bring the tree home, a yuletide homicide is on the tree's mind. That's right, this and all the other trees in this short film have minds and feelings. They speak in high-pitched squeaks much like the gopher in Caddyshack and viewers are able to understand them thanks to subtitles that translate what they say.

 Treevenge is treemendous! If you are sick of those sappy Christmas movies always being played, watch this treerific tale of ticked-off  trees. - Movie Vigilante

It turns out that these trees feel every chop of the axe and every saw blade ripping apart their bark when humans attack them every Christmas season. Then they suffer the humiliation of being "decorated" by these same humans.

Much of the film is seen from the trees' point of view. They don't understand what they've done to deserve this kind of treatment.

On Christmas day, they turn the tables and attack! You might say they ambush the humans. 

Ha! AmBUSH!

Verdict: This horror/comedy is just treemendous fun without the sap that usually drips from holiday movies. Although the gore and blood are campy and over the top, it still might disturb some viewers. There's also some profanity so I would not show this to kids. At only 15 minutes long, it's a very digestible watch.

This movie is part of my Ho Ho Horror! Advent Calendar movie list. To see the whole list, click on the link.


image source


Sort:  

Five Stars ... Up there with the great classics, Sharknado, Alfred Hitcock's The Birds ...

Wait, how did Sharknado get on that list?

tbh I didn't see it myself ... it did come highly recommended from someone who tastes I thought I could trust... ;-) Would 'Snakes on a Plane' have been a better second choice? Or is it a matter of the film's director clearly acknowledging the tongue-in-cheek, which, even in the case of Alfred Hitchcock's dry sense of humor, was not always apparent?

I saw Sharknado but I've never see Snakes on a Plane. I would hope the latter is better than the former. The Birds is a masterpiece.

Well, hate to say I would rate Sharknado and Snakes on a Plane equally. I must agree with you about Hitchcock.

Treevenge was awesome, I wish it was longer

I see you are Canadian too, in that case I recommend Wolfcop

I've seen Wolfcop and now I want to see Another Wolfcop which is out now.

If you haven't watched it, I recommend Turbo Kid

I still haven't seen TurboKid

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63607.88
ETH 2506.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59