Will The Last Jedi Be Better Than The Force Awakens?

in #movies7 years ago (edited)

Hi movie marauders! The 8th installment of the Star Wars franchise is slated to come out December 15, 2017 (USA). From what we have seen from the teaser trailer, this movie is extremely vital to the new trilogy. Force Awakens was really just a remake of A New hope, which really bothered me. The Last Jedi seems to be a new concept and definitely has me wondering who the last jedi is/are. The trailer looks amazing and it gave me chills. I am very anxious to see The Last Jedi. The question is: Will it be better than Episdoe VII? Let's discuss it:

[Suggested]Need to rewatch The Last Jedi teaser trailer? Click the video below![Suggested]

Luke and Rey

From what we saw at the end of Force Awakens, we know that Luke will be training Rey to become a Jedi. Also, in the teaser trailer we see clips of Luke teaching her on the island (yessss!!) I am extremely excited to see their Master-Padawan bond. Although Luke may not be what Rey expects him to be. Luke is still damaged from training Ben Solo and as we know from the teaser trailer, Luke believes the Jedi must end. What does he mean?! The Jedi can't just end, they balance the force!! It's going to be interesting to watch a damaged Luke try to train Rey, who is very enthusiastic about fighting against evil and becoming a Jedi.

I hope she doesn't turn to the dark side in the future because I really like Rey, and I am so excited to learn more about her heritage. There are so many conspiracy theories about who her parents are. (Luke, Obi Wan, Palpatine, etc.) To be honest I'm really not sure where she comes from. I would love for her to Obi Wan's daughter because: a) I love Obi Wan and b) It would be great to see Luke training his mentor's daughter. Of course, nothing is confirmed and we will just have to wait until December!

Wanna see the conspiracy theory that Rey is Obi Wan's daughter? Click the video below!

General Leia Organa

Probably the most wanted character to see is the late Carrie Fisher as Leia. I love how her character is now a General instead of just a princess. I feel very bad for Leia because Han died (by her own son) and Ben is consumed by the dark side. We see a small glimpse of Leia in the trailer.

It seems like she is looking at a map. Maybe she is planning some battles or thinking up some new ways to destroy the First Order! Whatever she is doing, I am so excited to see her take on the role of General even more in this film.

Finn/Poe/BB-8

From where we left off in Force Awakens, Finn got injured from his lightsaber duel with Kylo Ren and is in a coma. John Boyega (who plays Finn) says that Finn will definitely be in The Last Jedi and ready for some action. In the teaser trailer, we see him healing in some kind of medical pod.

Finn is a very strong character (he is the only person in Star Wars who has used a lightsaber without having powers-besides Han Solo in Empire Strikes Back). I'm not sure what role he will play in this Episode. Maybe he will help Poe (who we briefly saw in the trailer) or he will be in battle under Leia.

Whatever he is doing, I hope he will stay alive and well this time around. Poe is seen with BB-8 on a Resistance ship that is under attack. Plus, his X-Wing gets destroyed (that sucks). As for BB-8, he will apparently get himself into some funny situations. 

Kylo Ren/Captain Phasma

The only thing we see of Kylo is him holding his lightsaber and bearing his new scar.

As for Phasma (who is such a cool character) we see her with some stormtroopers in a wreckage.

I wish I had more information about them, but that's it!

R2D2 Fire scene/Battle Scenes

I have no idea what the R2D2 scene means. We have seen it in The Force Awakens as well, but it has still not been revealed to us. It is some sort of force vision or flashback that Luke has. It has been speculated that it relates to the jedi temple that Luke trained Ben at burning down.

Looks like we will have to patiently wait for an explanation (ugh). The battle scenes that are in the trailer look stunning. The ships that spew out red dust are very pleasing to the eye.

Apparently, the planet those ships are on is called Crait, and the it has an abandoned Rebel Base on it. I can't wait to see that action sequence! I don't know about you, but I am beyond excited for Episode VIII.

Conclusion

I think that The Last Jedi will be better than The Force Awakens. We may know basically nothing about it, but the teaser trailer has me very intrigued. I wouldn't say I was disappointed with Force Awakens, but I just didn't like the fact that it wasn't original. I feel like The Last Jedi is going to be an amazing sequel to Episode VII. I mean, Empire Strikes Back was even better than A New Hope. All I know is that I cannot wait for more trailers to be released! 

Follow me @moviemarauder if you enjoyed this article and you want to see more content like this everyday! 

Check out my article on 10 Amazing Facts About The Force Awakens! https://steemit.com/movies/@moviemarauder/10-amazing-facts-about-star-wars-episode-vii-the-force-awakens

--More The Last Jedi Articles will be posted once new information is available--

Sort:  

I have not seen or read nothing about that film because I do not want to know before watching it.

I hope it will be better, because episode VII was just a copy of episode IV. I wonder if Poe Dameron will get out of the closet, probably he will according to the last Disney precedents.

Simple answer: NO
Nether movie was "good".
Both movies rejected the source material to create their own story that lacked in depth.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60097.61
ETH 3373.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51