Movie Marauder's Review of Uncut Gems (2019)

in #movies4 years ago (edited)

Hello Movie Marauders! I haven't posted in a while, but I am back and ready to review movies, create fun facts, and post other exciting content! Also beware of the spoilers ahead if you have not yet watched this movie.

Uncut Gems is a film that I wanted to watch immediately after viewing the trailer. Not only does it showcase Adam Sandler in a totally different light, but also had a gritty tone that intrigued me. This 2 hour journey truly exceeded my expectations. The ending left me in shock, and had me pondering it for a couple of days.

Before I talk about the ending, I will start with the bread and butter of the film-the characters. I cannot highlight the amazing performances enough. The two that were absolutely phenomenal are Adam Sandler as Howard and Julia Fox as Julia. Some people may be hesitant to watch this film because of Adam Sandler and his reputation as "the comedy guy." Uncut Gems truly changes your opinion on Sandler as he shows he is capable of a more serious role. Of course the wardrobe of Howard makes up half the character, but the other half was all Sandler. From the beginning of the film, Sandler establishes himself as Howard, and does not give you a chance to question it. He truly embodies the character, with his endless cycle of smooth talking and shady deals to the moments where you empathize with his character. His counterpart, Julia, plays the part perfectly. She calls Howard on his mistakes, but is ultimately always there for him. She is a constant in his life that he can count on. Sandler and Fox had great chemistry on screen, and I think that Fox definitely helped Sandler's character come to life even more.

While the performances were great, the main roots of the story were very strong. From the "magical gem" that helps Kevin Garnett win games to Howard getting locked inside the trunk of his car during his daughter's play, this film has a myriad of moments that showcase Sandler's acting range. The film kept you entranced in the life of Howard, and built up to a twist ending. Throughout the film, Howard fails and fails and fails, but finally everything comes together. His bet on Garnett is going to pan out, and all of his problems will be solved. Right when the film is at its most triumphant moment, Howard is shot dead. While watching this, my jaw genuinely dropped to the floor. I was most definitely not expecting him to die at all.

Even though it was an extremely sad moment, it is refreshing to see a twist ending that was completely unexpected. It is disappointing that it did not receive any Oscar nominations because I feel like it deserves it. I hope that more people watch this film because it is very good and I definitely recommend it.

Thanks for reading! If you enjoyed this article and want more content like this everyday--follow me @moviemarauder , and don't forget to comment and upvote this post!!!

Check out some of my other articles!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 68237.15
ETH 3499.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72