Does Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them Deserve 5 Movies?

in #movies7 years ago

Hey movie marauders! Fantastic Beasts brought back everything you loved about Harry Potter. Magic, likeable characters, and the awesome creatures. Fantastic Beasts made $812.5 million and got a 73% on Rotten Tomatoes. It did not do as good as Harry Potter, but the movie wasn't bad. I thought the story would be a little different, but we will get into that later into the article. Fantastic Beasts was going to be a trilogy, but J.K. Rowling said that 5 movies had to be made to tell the story adequately (and Rowling even said 5 movies would be a tight squeeze to fit everything in). Does J.K. Rowling just want money or is Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them really that good of a story? Let's discuss it:

The Plot

When I first saw the trailer for Fantastic Beasts, I thought it would just be about Newt trying to catch all of his creatures (even though I knew Grindelwald would be in the movie). I thought maybe while catching his creatures, there was some kind of beast that he found that was destroying the city. Well, to me after I watched the movie there were about 3 separate storylines (Newt catching his creatures, the Obscurus-Credence, and the rise of Grindelwald).

That was really the main thing I did not like about the movie (and how old Grindelwald was). The movie could have been a lot better if not so many things were happening at once. I'm fine with the idea of an Obscurus, but I feel like it was executed poorly. It was kind of obvious that Credence had a bigger role in the film because he was played by a well-known actor (Ezra Miller). The movie wasn't terrible, but I feel like it could have been so much better.

The Characters

I loved all the characters. I like how Eddie Redmayne portrayed Newt. He did a good job showing how Newt associates better with animals than humans. Queenie and Jacob are so cute together. They are such good characters and I'm excited to see more of them in the next movies. Tina wasn't one of my favorite characters, but I still like her because of her determination and hardwork. The beasts were so interesting and some of them were really cute. The Niffler is definitely my favorite because of how cute and sneaky he is.

I also like the Bowtruckle because of his relationship with Newt. I thought the Demiguise was adorable and I like how it can turn invisible.

The Thunderbird reminded me of Buckbeak, but it is very different since it can sense danger and create storms. I didn't really like the Erumpent that much because it wasn't very magical. Fantastic Beasts got the magic of Harry Potter and the characters right. I loved all the beasts since we didn't get to see many on screen in Harry Potter. My only main issue was the plot.

The Setting

They built New York City because it was too hard to make the City look like it was from 1926. I loved the set that they built and I thought they did a good job depicting New York City at that time. Fantastic Beasts is very interesting because it is set before Harry Potter and the rise of Voldemort. I am very interested to see Grindelwald and young Dumbledore (going to be played by Jude Law in the 2nd movie) interact with each other.

 

The first movie had to open the door to Obscurus (which we now know is what happened to Dumbledore's sister, Ariana) and Grindelwald and Newt Scamander. I think Fantastic Beasts 2 will be better because we know how this new world works and we will finally see Dumbledore's story.

Conclusion

The world of Fantastic Beasts is just as magical as Harry Potter. Fantastic Beasts wasn't the best movie, but there is hope for the sequel. Fantastic Beasts deserves a second chance to wow audiences even more. I don't know how 5 movies will be made out of this story, but we will just have to wait to see how the sequel plays out (November 16, 2018).

Don't forget to follow @moviemarauder for more content like this everyday!!

Want to watch a short Behind the Scenes clip of Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them? Click the video below!

*Comment what you think about Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them!!*

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63749.66
ETH 3419.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48