Lion: A Movie Review

in #movies7 years ago

Background

Lion is a film directed by Garth Davis and written by Luke Davies. The film features Dav Patel, Rooney Mara, David Wenham, and Nicole Kidman, and it is based on the true story of Saroo Brierley, who was unintentionally led away from his biological family in Khandwa, India for over 20 years. He was later adopted by Australian couple Sue and John Brierley (played by Kidman and Wenham, respectively). On February 22nd, 2017, I waited in line and purchased a ticket for the movie. As I entered the theater where the movie was being shown, I had no idea what to expect. I had seen trailers for the film before, but I didn't really know if the movie would live up to the trailer. Having seen the film now, I decided to share my thoughts with those who may be hesitant to step in and see the film.

What did I enjoy?

The Cast of Characters

The great set of actors in their particular roles really made the movie worth watching. One of my favorite actors was Sunny Pawar as the younger Saroo. Some of the scenes in this film dealt with rather intense scenarios, and young Pawar filmed the scenes like it was nothing. Dav Patel's performance as the grown up version of Saroo was also very admirable, and he really played the character of Saroo with full determination and understanding. Though the movie focused on Saroo, Nicole Kidman's interpretation of Sue Brierley was played with such a grace that it made her lovable throughout the entire time that I was acquainted with her character.

The Plot

From the point you first see the character of Saroo, you're rooting for him from the very beginning. Saroo goes through many things that a child should never have to go through, and his incredible journey displayed through the film is a journey that will have audiences cheering for the protagonist right up until the closing credits. The story includes scenes that were very important; these moments made us understand Saroo on a deeper level, especially when we see him develop into an adult.

Worldly Awareness

Saroo, Lion's protagonist, comes from an Indian background. Because of this, most of the story takes place in the country of India. The film dealt with issues in third world countries that we may never even think of in our wildest dreams: poverty, trafficking, loss. I applaud the producers of this film for creating a film that creates a brave protagonist in harsh conditions and provides cultural awareness for those viewing the film, who may have never been acquainted with these type of issues before in the rest of the world.

What did I dislike?

Loose Ends

There were very few things that I could find poor about this film. One thing that I was sad about, however, were a few loose ends. By loose ends, I mean there wasn't a conclusive direction about where something went. The one loose end that I wish could've been tied up (pun intended) was the relationship between Lucy (played by Rooney Mara) and Saroo. Throughout the university life of Saroo, he has a love affair with Lucy that develops rather quickly, and I would have liked to see where they would have ended up as a couple. But alas, the story focused on Saroo finding his biological family, and I cannot blame them too harshly, for a 2 hour film is already plenty of time to be in the movie theater.

Final Thoughts

I have to say this movie is unlike anything I'm used to viewing, but I definitely recommend seeing it. I will definitely state that this movie nearly had me crying at the end of the film (Why? You'll have to see it to find out!). The movie is currently out in theaters right now, and I hope it will be for a little while after this article is published. We need more films like this on a broader audience scale. I say this because the state of the world right now needs a little bit of understanding on a global level.

On a personal note, being in Maine my whole life is something that I take pride in. I enjoy the winters (God forbid) of Maine, and I enjoy being in "Vacationland." However, for me personally, I have not been able to really understand the ideas and struggles of the rest of the world. If it was to make it possible for everyone in the world to see everywhere in the world, I'd definitely do it. It's interesting to think about the rest of the Earth in terms of our own lives: we often forget how lucky we are to be alive. We forget about the food that we're able to eat and the homes that we're able to live in. Watching this inspiring film reminded me of how lucky I am, and how we should all feel lucky to be breathing steadily.

Images: 1, 2.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65814.16
ETH 3444.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64