Trying out Moviepass

in #movies6 years ago

I finally got my Moviepass card.

(The card is actually a debit card, thus my unattractive thumb, but you can only use it movie theaters.)

For $9.99 a month you can go see one first run movie every 24 hours.

That's less than half what I pay for Netflix--I get the streaming and one blu-ray at a time.

You can't do 3D showing or special events, like Fathom Events.

Click here to see the site.

  Here's how it works. 

1. Download the app. 

2. In the app select the theater, the movie, and the time. You're then given 30 minutes to buy your ticket. 

3. Use the Moviepass card at the Kiosk to get your ticket. Couple of things, you have to be at the theater, within 100 yards in order to reserve your tickets. So that's the trade, unlike Fandango where you can buy tickets before, you actually have to be in the parking lot of the theater. Not a big deal, but something to be aware of. I guess you could buy a ticket for a future showing if needed. But again using the app and GPS you have to be in the parking lot of the theater you want to go. 

So far I've seen American Made, with Tom Cruise--not bad, and Kingsmen Golden Circle--skip this one.  Both I saw at matinees.  One matinee where I live is around $8.75, so one matinee isn't worth it.  Two matinee's and I've already saved several dollars.

I work from home now, so I have a little more flexibility in seeing movies during the week.

At $9.99 a month every time I see a full price movie I am getting a deal.  

I think this only works in the US.  But check out the site to see what theaters in your area allow it.

Yes. I will be using it to see The Last Jedi a few times.

Sort:  

This is awesome. Glad I found this post. Off to order mine now. I hope it lasts.

It's been around awhile and I think it will last, they just recently lowered their price. The theaters make money, because you will go to the theater more and buy more popcorn.

I know I do.

Very interesting does this work all over the US

Go to the site, put in your address and it will show theaters in your area.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62187.20
ETH 3051.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79