You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Film Review: Sing (2016)

in #movies6 years ago (edited)

I watched Spirited Away in the original Japanese, with no subtitles, without any clear idea of what was going on. The mystery of It was beautiful.

I got the basic allegory I think: The previous generation (her 'caregivers') were turning into pigs; the protagonist must leave them behind and find meaning and purpose in a shadow world of ghosts and spectres than have lost their way, haunted by indefinable hereditary traumas.

I notice that it's easy to ruin a Japanese animation by sticking English voice actors on top of the original soundtrack. Perhaps you watched it in this hobbled state?

For me the beauty of Spirited Away was the indecipherability and magic; the symbolism and surrealism.

Sort:  

My gut says I watched it subbed, but I can’t be sure. It can be deeply alienating to not get something that so many awakened people love.

I felt the same about Inception until I watched it three times.

Not that I feel you should persist with Spirited Away. It wasn't life changing, it was just interesting.

I just can't get over Nolan's Belligerent Time-Keeping, in Inception and now Dunkirk.

I loved Inception but get more annoyed each time I see the Hotel Climax.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63039.96
ETH 2549.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78