You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Film Review: Joker (2019)

in #movies4 years ago

I think it's excellent that you chose The Joker to make your first review. I have already read many perceptions that the film left on several movie channels. From there I tell you that I liked your publication the honor you do to Joaquin Phoenix when you say:

slipped into this role like a glove, and impressed me by his ability to not force the character, but give it a naturalness that others have failed to do in the past.

I consider these words very accurate and very well written.
It has been a great pleasure to read you. Regards @oryans.belt

Sort:  

Hi, Marcy. How are you? As always, so happy to read your comments. I have heard mixed reviews from friends and strangers, some didn't think he was a good Joker, others feel like its not good to show the causes that resulted in the Joker. But I still stand by my admiration for Phillips giving a maturity and realistic narrative to the film. I really think its helps to have seen his mockumentary to understand why this casting choice made us much sense as it did.

Personally, I don't like the roles of crazy maniacs with thousands of traumas that become antiheroes (and, all vile acts are justified).

However, I agree with you that Joaquin manages to humanize his character, in a natural way, without justifying nothing makes an verdaera individual and social criticism.

Definitely a difficult line to walk between justification of wrongdoing and the antecedents that result in a lack of sympathy, compassion and empathy. I think putting a lense on it is useful for showing that our present day attitudes of psycopathy and/or sociopothy is largely symptomatic.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69831.92
ETH 3744.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77