You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker review

in #movies4 years ago (edited)

I'm not going to spoil anything, but it's all as predictable as you'd expect. (Edit: I may have misunderstood what you said, maybe you have watched it already and meant something else) I wasn't a big fan of the prequel trilogy initially, but I have grown to appreciate it over the years/decade.

Some of what Disney/ new-Lucasfilm did post-acquisition was definitely intentional. I.e. Focusing on nostalgia rather than innovation, the past rather than look forward to the future. But most of it is just mismanagement. Hiring the wrong people, firing them when it doesn't work out exactly as they hoped, changing directions abruptly etc. etc. The most egregious, as I pointed out above, is hiring different people from the same series who are clearly not in sync with each other, and there's no creative showrunner to keep things consistent. It's a complete mess, though still a spectacular one.

Sort:  

I spent seven hours watching it Thursday night on my laptop. I kept on pausing it. I was taking notes. Then I got banned on Twitter for talking about it while I was watching it. Grandpa Palpy told Rey to kill Palpatine so he can hop into her body. So, Rey did. So, does that mean he hopped into her body? Yeah, I agree that Disney did bad stuff like you said.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68643.75
ETH 3779.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67