You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: An Esoteric Journey into the Symbolism of the Gnostic Cathar Movie; The NeverEnding Story (1984)

in #movies8 years ago

I first read the book, an english translation when I was 9, and it was notable for being the first book over about 100 pages that I read in my childhood. The movie only tells you the first half of the book, the second half is far more adult and it's not for nothing the second half never made it into a movie. I didn't see the movie until much later but it was definitely aimed at children compared to the book, which was definitely aimed at teenagers.

Really nice review and analysis of the symbology in it. Labyrinth and The Dark Crystal are another two movies from this time that are deeply symbolic and in fact I had a recurring dream before I ever saw or before it was even made, that had an element in it like the healing of the Crystal in the Dark Crystal, a dream which continues to haunt me and symbolises my personal life mission...

Thanks :)

Sort:  

Wow. Thanks for letting me know. I've been wondering about the books, but no one I've ever talked to has read it. So, now I want to get it. Yeah, these stories like the Dark Crystal, and Labyrinth all ring home to me. I used to have reoccurring dreams where I and a two others had these crystals that we would use to open up portals and jump into different times/dimensions. Fun stuff. :) Thanks @l0k1!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65762.16
ETH 3485.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50