Mystery Train

in #movies6 years ago (edited)

unspecified-1473962056-726x388.jpg


Mystery Train is a 1989 film made by Jim Jarmusch. I posted a funny scene starring Joe Strummer at the bottom of this post.

The film is set in Memphis, once the music capital of the western world where some of the most incredible music was made, music that defined history. The whole soundtrack to the film is worth it's weight in gold, and the film itself, to me, is a masterpiece in experimental film.

The film centers on three stories that unfold in the same night, within downtown Memphis, and all stories are intertwined by the arcade hotel. Elvis or should i say Elvis' ghost plays a central theme in the film, but of course Memphis is about so much more than just Elvis. In fact, i think Elvis' music is the only music out of Memphis that i didn't like. Sorry Elvis fans. Even though i've not been there, Memphis to me is all about Memphis Soul and the music birthed on legendary labels such as Stax.



One artist from Memphis that I really like right now, is Willis Earl Beal. I implore you to check out his music. I especially recommend his live performance of "Cosmic Queries".. you'll not be disappointed.

I can highly recommend the movie though, as i would the majority of Jim Jarmusch' films.



Joe Strummer portrayed an Englishman in America really well in this movie, i found him hilarious in Mystery Train. I did meet many great people and really enjoyed the road trips, loved the nature, the desert, the old ghost towns and vast landscapes. The system itself, the chaos was a bit much for me though.

I missed out not visiting the home of Memphis soul. Maybe one day, but I am more keen on going to South America next.



Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66791.24
ETH 3239.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22