You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [Discussion Post] Which Disney movie is your favorite?

in #movies4 years ago

This is a tough one. Asking me to pick my favorite Disney movie is like asking a parent to pick a favorite child. But if I had to pick one, it would be Toy Story 2. To be honest, I'm a bit fuzzy on the plot since I haven't watched it in a while, but I can't count the number of times that I've re-watched it. I love the airport scene especially. Plus, there are so many famous actors whose voices I didn't recognize as a child, but who I have heard of now including Tom Hanks and Don Rickles. I have enjoyed the entire Toy Story franchise, but the second movie tops the list.

As an amateur clarinet player and enthusiast, my favorite Disney piece (not song) is definitely the opening of the Fantastia remake because it features Gershwin's Rhapsody in Blue. The very technical and extremely difficult clarinet solo is amazing and never ceases to amaze me no matter how many times I hear it. The combination of the trill, followed by the glissando, and finished off with the bend sounds so perfect and pure. Gershwin was really innovative in combining classical and jazz styles into one. Also have to shout out the piano part because holy crap, that part seems insane (remind me, did Gershwin ad lib the piano part on the debut and write it later?)

Sort:  

I am pretty sure Gershwin did improvise the piano part at the premiere. He was incredible.

The Toy Story franchise is amazing! I totally agree that picking a favorite Disney movie is incredibly difficult.

I really hope to see Fantasia one day. I love this scene:

This is epic!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62427.05
ETH 2464.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65