Best Monologues in Movie History

in #movies6 years ago

I wrote two posts yesterday asking for everyone's Favorite movie of all time and the Worst movie of all time.

While posting about my favorite movie (Gladiator) I mentioned how Russell Crowe said the famous monologue was shit and that he wanted to change it. Fortunately it never got changed and goes down in history as one of the best quotes.

"My name is Maximus Decimus Meridius, Commander of the Armies of the North, General of the Felix Legions, loyal servant to the true emperor, Marcus Aurelius. Father to a murdered son, husband to a murdered wife. And I will have my vengeance, in this life or the next."

Which got me thinking, there are a lot of fantastic monologues in movies and it would make for an interesting post to highlight some of my favorites. In fact one I ripped to an MP3 and it makes a fantastic motivational sound byte. That is the inches speech from Any Given Sunday which you can find below. I listened to it daily for many weeks at a time.

Gladiator - I am Maximus Decimus Meridius

Any Given Sunday - Inches Speech

Pulp Fiction - Ezekiel 25:17

The Matrix - What is the Matrix

Braveheart - Freedom

Good Will Hunting - Park Scene

Shawshank Redemption - Release Hearing

Inglourious Bastards - The Jew Hunter

Sort:  

How about Al Pacino in Devil's Advocate?

Awesome movie!
That's a real good monologue.

I missed your post about whats your favorite movie yesterday, but my favorite movie is Tron: Legacy and i really love the speech/monologue CLU has when speaking to his army.

The most meaningful silence in cartoons...

your favorite movie's are awesome and wonderfull..
also i have some favorite movie.
historical movie's,romantica movie's, ation movie's and ghostal movie's are my favorite movie's

the movie the matrix is undoubtedly a legend .. that was the movie that impelled other directors to use more special effects in later movies .. the matrix one of my favorite will never stop seeing it.

I hear they are doing a reboot.

ok .. it would be great .. the bad thing is that they will change the protagonist since neo died in the last movie ..If you take out the Matrix restart the special effects will be luxurious ..

Unbelievable! After Gladiator. there he is. William Wallace! How powerful is the impact of such leaders on everyone of us!
Braveheart is also one of my favorite movies. This guy is the total package for revolution. He is inspiring , empowering people with his internal moral compass integrity. Also a massive fan of Braveheart. Freedom!

My favourite is Mel Gibson in brave heart. I have seen this movie more times than I can count.

Gerri at comes

Sons of Scotland. I am William Wallace. Yes I’ve heard. Kills men by the hundreds and if he were here he’d consume the English with fireballs from his eyes and bolts of lightning from his arse. I am William Wallace. And I see a whole army of my countrymen here in defiance of tyranny. You have come to fight as free men and free men you are. What would you do without freedom? Will you fight? Aye, fight and you may die, run and you’ll live, at least a while. And dying in your beds many years from now, would you be willing to trade all of this, from this day to that, for one chance, just one chance, to come back here and tell our enemies that they may take our lives but they’ll never take our freedom!

OT:

Hi, I have seen you are extensively using @upmyvote for upvotes. I'd like you to not use it anymore (as well as @randowhale), but switch to other upvote bots like @minnowbooster, @boomerang or @smartsteem.

If you use @upmyvote or @randowhale again for any more posts, they will be flagged to zero.

OK?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57956.22
ETH 3126.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45