Revving up for the Endgame: A Geeky Dad's Guide to Movies to See Before the New Avengers Movie

in #movies5 years ago

To say my family is excited for the release of Avengers: Endgame would be a tremendous understatement. Although my son and I were completely psyched for the release of The Force Awakens and even bought shirts that said "Waiting for VII", my wife and daughter simply came along for the ride (and then thoroughly enjoyed it once it started). Therefore, Endgame is the first time all four of us have been counting down the days to a movie's release.

In order to prepare for the release, we decided to catch up on the previous installments in the Marvel Cinematic Universe. Because there are 21 movies leading up to Endgame (and we actually have lives) we could not possibly watch them all. After doing a bit of research and checking some recommended lists, here are the movies that we decided to try to watch before Thursday.





Spoiler Alert: we failed. We prioritized movies we had not seen in a while and therefore may have forgotten some important details. Here is my family's list of movies that comprise the essential Avengers: Endgame primer.

1. Captain America: The First Avenger



We had intended to watch the movies chronologically according to when they took place rather than release date... and we immediately failed. For some odd reason, Captain America is my wife's absolute favorite Marvel Character. I simply could not look her in the eye and told her we had watched a movie featuring a shirtless Chris Evans without her. As a result, my kids and I actually started with Iron Man*.

With Cap and Iron Man being the two biggest characters in all the movies, it seemed only fitting that we watch their origin stories. We were not disappointed. I had forgotten how much fun Captain America really was. Plus it establishes him as a hero who can "do this all day".

It also contains our first Infinity Stone.

2. Iron Man






This movie kicked off the series with a huge bang. It has the perfect mix of humor, storytelling and action. Although Tony Stark has become a little cynical and dark during the course of the saga, this reminds you why he was so likable.

3. Avengers



Wow. This movie is a reminder that the writers and directors of these movies know how to "blow stuff up real good". Not only do we get to see the band come together... the rock New York like never before. Then they get some shawarma.

4. Captain America: The Winter Soldier






To be honest, we had intended to jump right to Civil War... then we realized my daughter had never seen Winter Soldier and we could all use a little reminder as to why the Avengers were fighting among themselves in the next movie. I am so happy we went back to this one. Robert Redford in a superhero movie??!!! Yes please! Plus this includes the amazing elevator fight sequence. It also reminded us why SHIELD would not be rushing to help fight Thanos.

5. Captain America: Civil War



I forgot how much I loved this movie. Not only does it introduce the team to Ant-Man, Black Panther and Spider-Man, it reminds the audience why Tony and Cap haven't even seen each other face to face for years. I would imagine that Endgame will include an awkward reunion. Watching Civil War will help make that scene more enjoyable. This and Infinity War are probably the most important movies to watch before seeing Endgame this week.

6. Doctor Strange






We actually failed to watch this one. Although I know the explanation of the Time Stone is important to Infinity War and Endgame, we saw it again a couple of months ago and felt we had a pretty strong grasp on its connection to the finale.

7. Avengers: Infinity War



Because we had seen this a couple of weeks ago, we skipped this one as well. Because it is the direct prequel to Endgame, you must have a strong grasp on the details of this story.

8. Ant-Man and the Wasp






And for a little comic relief... I present Ant-Man and the Wasp. Not only was this movie incredibly fun/funny, the Quantum Realm (which is explained in this film) may play a very important role in Endgame.

9. Captain Marvel



In the final stinger of Infinity War, a disappearing Nick Fury pages an unknown hero. After watching this movie, she will no longer be unknown. More importantly, you will know why her arrival gives the universe a glimmer of hope that Thanos may actually be defeated.

What do all of you think? Did I miss any?



Images 1, 2, 3, 4, 5

Sort:  

Damn, I can't believe how many of these I've missed

My daughter can't wait for this, she loves these movies :)

This movie is going to break all the box office record till date. Created so much of hipe like BTC it will be cross all the limit and create a new record. 👍

I would choose Guardians of Galaxy instead of Ant-Man and Wasp

Oh GOTG and Ragnarok are my 2 favorite Marvel movies ever. I think I was biased by the fact that I watch it about once a month. But you are right. Their backstory and teh Stone is very important.

Oh, time may not allow me to watch those beautiful stuffs!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I skipped the Captain America movies ;(and what you're basically telling me is that I should now watch them all! Luckily I have a two week break so I might just do a marathon of all these movies in the next few days.

Buenas películas te seguiré espero me sigas

Felicidades hermano espero que disfrutes la pelicula con tu hijo, yo la veré igual con el mío y espero que podamos comentar sobre que tal les fue, saudos!!!

Thank you, I love this summary. I would only miss one to see the Endgame. 😍

Posted using Partiko Android

yup! Going to see this tomorrow. Stoked!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59046.50
ETH 2654.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50