I love every piece of the Cloverfield experience... including The Cloverfield Paradox.

in #movies6 years ago

It's been 3 days since I wrote my review of The Cloverfield Paradox. During that time, I have heard countless people tell me they hated it, many social media posts have blasted it, the Rotten Tomato critics' score has dropped to a 16%... and I have grown to love the experience even more.



I believe the fourth in the series was already made seven years ago.

In my review, I mentioned that for me, the Cloverfield franchise is much more than a set of four movies (yes I wrote "four" and I don't mean the upcoming sequel). It is an experience. A big part of this experience has been the "ninja" marketing and the Alternate Reality Game that has accompanied each film.

Ninja marketing


Back in 2008, as I settled into my seat to see The Transformers, a preview for a then untitled movie appeared on the screen. Thanks to the fact that there was absolutely no press about the movie, along with the fact it did not even have a title yet, I had no idea what I was looking at.





Naturally, I assumed it would be a Godzilla remake. I was intrigued and made a mental note to keep an eye out for more information. After discussing the preview with some buddies, we argued over whether or not one of the characters had said "I saw it. It's a lion. It's huge!" or "I saw it. It's alive. It's huge!"

That is where the mystery began. Was it about a giant lion attacking New York? Would Godzilla fight a giant lion?

As each new television trailer surfaced, so did more and more questions. Although my friends and I had fun discussing the possibilities, none of us chose to dig too deeply into the internet in order to find our answers. We were all too worried that we would uncover spoilers that would ruin our fun. So we argued like idiots backed up by absolutely no facts and counted down the days until the opening night. We were so afraid of spoilers that we knew we had to see it before anyone else could ruin it.



Paramount and Bad Robot had done it. They had whipped my friends and I up into a geektastic frenzy based on very calculated teases in the previews.

When opening night finally came, even though we all hated the shaky camera effect, my friends and I all loved Cloverfield. After the movie, we went to a bar and talked about our outrageous theories. Was this a new Godzilla? Was it an alien? How about Cthulu? Had we all seen the object fall into the ocean at the end? Is that where the monster came from?

That is where the experience really started. The conversations leading up to actually seeing the film were fun... but the ones after were some of the geekiest I have ever been involved in. I was in heaven.

After a couple of hours of swapping outrageous theories, I went home. No longer afraid of finding any spoilers, I started to scour the internet for evidence to back up my theory and destroy my friends' ideas. That is when I found the ARG... but that is for a post all its own.

By dropping out of the blue like it had, Cloverfield whipped my friends and I into such a frenzy that we couldn't wait to see the movie and then couldn't stop talking about it after we had.




If you haven't already, pay special attention to the very end of movie. When it cuts to the video of Rob and Beth on a date, pay attention to the background.

But that was a one time deal. There was no way a studio could pull that off again. My friends and I aren't idiots.

Or so we thought.

Paramount and Bad Robot did it again. They hid the production of another Cloverfield movie from the public for almost two years. The studio revealed it less than two months prior to its release via a trailer preceding another Michael Bay film: 13 Hours.



Even though I was a Cloverfield fanatic, eight years after its release, I had given up hope of the story ever continuing. When my buddy texted me to tell me he had seen a preview for a new Cloverfield movie, I thought he was joking. But sure enough, as I typed "C-l-o-v-e-r-f..." into Youtube's search field, the trailer appeared. I watched it at least 10 times. I studied every detail.

During those eight years in-between movies, something changed. Thanks to discovering the ARG after that night at the bar with my buddies, I had grown to realize that there were no spoilers to be found online. But there were a lot clues to a puzzle that lead to even more clues. During the weeks leading up to 10 Cloverfield Lane I consumed as much information about it as I could. The experience had continued.

Bravo Paramount and Bad Robot. You fooled me once again. But I vowed it would never happen again.



That's it! Twice is enough. You will never catch me off guard again!

And then the Super Bowl happened.

As the trailer began, I screamed "shut up" to a room full of my friends. But these were not my geeky friends. They were "regular" people. Regular people who now thought I was crazier than ever. But I didn't care. I had not heard of this movie (again). I quickly took out my phone and searched "Cloverfield Paradox".

Just when I thought Abrams couldn't be any more of a ninja, he took things to another level. Not only did he drop this Cloverfield movie out of the blue (again), it would be available as soon as the game ended. Now that is NINJA!




This is NOT the exact preview I saw. In the Midwest, the preview ended with "coming soon to Netflix" not "only on Netflix tonight". So it looks like I was lucky enough to get double Ninjaed.

Although I wanted to watch it immediately after the game, I was simply too tired. I did not want the experience to be ruined. Then my wife told me she wanted to watch it with me but couldn't until two nights after it was available. Two nights?! Was she crazy? How would I deal with the anticipation?

But the anticipation turned out to be fun. It allowed me to look into the new elements in the ARG. It provided me time to check my notes on the previous two movies (yes I have notes). It added to the over all Cloverfield experience.

This is why I keep finding new reasons to love The Cloverfield Paradox despite the fact I am nearly completely alone in this opinion. This ten year long experience has been so much fun for me.

Spoiler alert



While many were confused or annoyed by the fact that The Cloverfield Paradox seems to have been retrofitted to be a Cloverfield movie, I love it. Thanks to the Shepard particle accelerator "ripping open the membrane of space-time” and "smashing together multiple dimensions", ANYTHING is possible. The events of the three previous Cloverfield movies can all be connected now. It also paves the way for an unlimited amount of new stories set in the past, present and future.

I had heard that Abrams wanted to create a Cloverfield anthology similar to The Twilight Zone. Now he can.

Imagine if all of the Twilight Zone episodes had one common thread tying them all together. What if the monster that William Shatner sees on the wing of his plane is also the creature that gave 6 year old Anthony Fremont god-like powers?

Perhaps my favorite part of The Cloverfield Paradox is that it makes it possible for Super 8 to be the first chapter in the Cloverfield experience. I have always believed this to be the case. Even when Abrams himself vehemently denied the connection, I always said, "You're a tricky bastard. I'm not falling for one of your tricks you trickster".



Kelvin gas stations don't seem to exist outside of the Cloverfield universe. Guess what is served inside this Kelvin gas station... Slusho!

Now that space and time have been ripped open, of course the existence of the Kelvin gas station and Slusho indicate that Super 8 takes place in the same universe that has been impacted by the Shepard particle accelerator.

Heck, maybe Captain Kirk is from this universe as well.

One thing is for sure. I am very happy I'm already married. I don't know how I will ever get this stench of pure geekiness off of me. In case you didn't know, pure geekiness happens to be the most perfect girl-repellent ever devised.

...and I'm not even done.

I still need to write about the Alternate Reality Game that accompanies these movies.

Oh man if steemit were around ten years ago, I don't think I would have ever slept. I would have written about Cloverfield 24/7.

Images 1, 2, 3, 4, 5

Sort:  

I recently re-watched Cloverfield on IFC and I re-enjoyed it again. I saw that Netflix was coming out with this new series. I hesitate to invest time in watching a series that is really only connected to the Cloverfield universe in name only.

Based on your recommendations, I will give it a try.

I has been really a long to see you and read your film reviews. How is life going there? And major changes happened to your life?

As we discussed the other day I decided that I needed to start back at the beginning again. Perfect that they are all on Netflix. We just finished watching the origional Cloverfield and I have to say it was amazing!!!! Both my partner and I were n the edge of our seats the whole time and we were both loving the what's next aspect. Her favourite part was the subway tunnel scene which led to the triage unit where a great camera shot was capture. (I won't spoil anything here) As Sci Fi fans and people who love things like x-files this was a great portrayal of a disaster from the perspective of the average casualty of war. We are just about to start the second film which we haven't seen and then onto the new Netflix movie Cloverfield Paradox. I can see how people might not be into it. It is very much a love it or leave it kind of film. For us it is a solid 2 thumbs up and love it!!! I guess my Saturday is all filled up @hanshotfirst. My report cards are going slow now. haha

LOL. I am about to watch the first one with my son this afternoon. He has never seen it. My next post is going to be a Cliffs notes of the ARG.

Good luck with the report cards!

I am sorry if this is redundant. Did I tell you that I am part of an initiative here trying to encourage more educational content? It's called @steemiteducation. Check out the resteems. We can use as many good teachers as we can get.

No, I didn't know about this. I will certainly check it out this weekend. I have been thinking about different things that I would like to blog about. I'm a big sports fan and I love fishing so those things are easy one for me but I have also wondered how I could somehow provide educational content. Thanks so much for letting me know.

@hanshotfirst OK, so we made it through the first two movies we absolutely loved them. I gotta say, I'm really impressed with 10 Cloverfield Lane. This could be a stand alone movie with all the excitement it provided but then they tie in the whole alien piece with an epic finish. We are planning to watch the Paradox tonight.
As for the @steemeducation I think this is an amazing initiative. Is this something you spearheaded? I am very interested in submitting content for the forum. How that report cards are finished I might have a little extra time on my hands. I have read the entire blog and have been enjoying some of the posts as I have followed and have them coming through my feed now. The rules are great and makes perfect sense. I just want to be clean on how to submit. Do I just post an article and tag @steemeducation? I can't wait to start submitting. I have so many ideas.

I'm kind of embarrassed to admit I didn't even realize the first two Cloverfield movies were connected! Duh. Now I think I might watch the Cloverfield Paradox. Thanks for the review. Upvoted!

This is the first I've heard of the Cloverfield Paradox. These type of movies stand on the shoulders of H.P. Lovecraft, and of course, Stephen King (the "hippy Lovecraft" as I like to call him).

They seem to "ninja" market it to shake you up. I saw Super 8 too, but never caught those connections! The other low-budget success that used this tactic to some degree was "The Blair Witch" project. This is the classic horror mentality. The mind wanders, and a part of you accepts what you are seeing as real, or at least possible. We all have some appetite for a mystery, which is a key element of horror.

It sounds like they are taking it to the next level with "Paradox" and by opening up the proverbial can of worms (or wormholes) they've created something series-worthy. It worked for Stargate, so who knows?

I don't like what Abrams did with Star Wars, but with this type of movie, yes, he should shine. Matching a director with the right movie is like matching the right actor for a certain role. Gene Wilder, for example, will always be the real Willy Wonka to me.

Thanks for the insight!

@hanshotfirst, agree with your review. I liked the ninja drop from nowhere on Netflix, it is almost like the movie itself is creating a paradox. It is great post. Thanks for sharing

I love how well thought out and coordinated the movies are with each other. Add to that the use of new filming elements from the initial movie’s recording style to the recent movies marketing/lack of and I’m sold!!! Who wouldn’t want to reward cool new techniques!?!?!

I actually really like the other two movies. Super 8 was great too. I just got done watching this one and the intro to this one was annoyingly filled with propaganda that sort of soured the tone for me right from the get go. Abrams needs to get out of his ideological echo chamber and actually think before he starts yammering on about energy shortages. There are a million different things we would do to produce energy if we ran out of current sources before wasting a bunch of it launching hundreds of tons of hardware into space and feeding it unprecedented amounts of more energy (1000x CERN!). Then there was the anti Russia crap that just had me shaking my head.

After it got past that silliness and the real SciFi started it was actually a very enjoyable movie. I always like the alternate reality multi dimensional storylines. It's a great tool to write a story around and make things more interesting.

Great spying the Kelvin and Slusho. To me those two items make your theory at least plausible. Glad to see this series got into the head of someone else! I don't even watch the superbowl but my wife was at her parents party for it and she texted "New Cloverfield" and I went nuts, I didn't believe it..

I'm beginning to think Abrams is either insane or a evil genius!

I have not seen the new one or the first one but did see Cloverfield lane and I really liked it. So now I am going to be looking through the firestick for these as well. Thank you. I can feel your enthusiasm ooozing off the page well done, very well done!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86