Attack the Block: A Must See Movie for Any Geek

in #movies7 years ago

I love to talk about movies with my buddies. If anyone new joins the group and asks if I have any recommendations for any new movies to watch, I immediately stop them. Before they spend time on any new movies, I always ask, "Have you seen Attack the Block yet?"



Because, it was not a very popular movie (it made less than $7 million world wide when it was released in 2011) most people look at me like an inquisitive dog cocking its head wondering why that human is throwing out that perfectly good fat that was left on its plate. People usually ask, "What's it about? Is it any good?"

This is where the fun starts.

I usually just tell them the tag line and then gauge their expression as to whether or not I should continue. Attack the Block's tagline is...

Inner City vs. Outer Space

If I haven't lost them, I then explain that the "inner city" isn't in America, it is in South London. If they were semi-interested by the tag, most are full in when I mention this interesting tidbit. The movie is all about a bike gang in a rough London neighborhood.



No that was not a typo. These guys are not a "biker gang"...
They are a gang of 15 year old kids on bicycles.

Without giving away too many spoilers, Attack the Block is about a gang of fifteen year olds (and a couple of 9 year olds) who have to do battle with aliens who fall from the sky into their neighborhood. It's kind of like The Goonies... if it were rated R and all the kids swore, smoked marijuana and robbed people.

In order to gauge whether or not they will like it, I ask if they have ever seen any of John Carpenter's action/horror movies of the early 80s. If they liked Assault on Precinct 13, The Fog, or Escape From New York (especially this one) I think it is safe to assume they will like Attack the Block. It is almost as if the writers sat down and said, "Man I miss dark 80s action/horror movies. Let's make one just like that!"



Everything about this movie reminds me of the style of Escape From New York (and I LOVED Escape From New York). The pacing, the use of music, the violence and the interesting characters are all there. There is also an awesome anti-hero. And I love a good anti-hero. Before I even knew what that phrase meant, Snake Plissken, played by Kurt Russell, was my absolute favorite. Attack the Block has an equally compelling anti-hero named Moses. Oh, this may interest you...

Moses is played by John Bodega.

Who?



Before he became Finn, John Bodega was Moses (I guess he has a thing for no last names).

Even though the cast is comprised of young "nobodies", they all did a very good job. The main female character, a nurse who the gang mugs and later befriends, is played very well by Jodie Whittaker. One of my favorite parts of the movie is trying figure out what the heck the kids are saying. They speak in a very thick South London accent filled with colorful slang. I have seen the movie a half dozen times and I still hear something new with each viewing. A primary source may need to correct me on this one, but to me, they all sound a lot like Alli G.



Respect!

There its one huge difference between this and the 80s movies it appears to be paying homage to: this movie has decent special effects. The up side of this is that the creatures actually look pretty cool and believable. The bad news is that the gore is a little too realistic for me. The movie is about predatory aliens with sharp teeth so when they attack, its a pretty gross. Personally I do not care for the gore, but I love everything else so much that I have watched this movie repeatedly.

Because the film only had a budget of $13 million dollars, the effects are far from perfect. But when you factor in the fact that they needed to do this as cheaply as possible, it makes me appreciate the effects even more. The creatures are a bit "hokey" but I think that may be as a result of the desire to pay homage to movies like "The Thing". To me, I felt the effects were imperfect on purpose. This actually increased my enjoyment of the movie.

If I still haven't convinced them to see the movie at this point, I dip into my reserves and point out that the movie was produced by Big Talk Pictures which also produced: Shaun of the Dead, Hot Fuzz, and Scott Pilgrim vs. The World.

If that doesn't work, I tell them that the movie is only 82 minutes long. What do they have to lose?

Have you seen Attack the Block? What did you think?

Images Links 1, 2, 3, 4, 5

Sort:  

@hanshotfirst, your post has been chosen by @STEEMNEWS.ONLINE as one of today's promoted posts for its excellent content. We've upvoted, resteemed and published it through Facebook & Twitter.

As the author of a SNO featured article, you've been awarded one TRAIL coin. Please stop by the SteemTrail Discord server to learn more about how to claim your TRAIL coin. You will need an Open Ledger account to do so.

STEEMNEWS.ONLINE watches the #steemnews tag most closely. Please consider supporting excellent news articles by making steemnews.online one of your operators on Streemian.

Thank you for your hard work and contribution of excellent content to Steemit.

I agree that it's a good film, quite fascinating with a balanced plot, residential areas of London and local slang adds atmospheric and fun :)

I watched it 4 years ago, but thanks for the review!

The fact that is was in London put it over the top for me. I'm in the U.S. so this added an extra layer of interest to see how teenagers might act elsewhere.

The author seems to want to talk about the implication of it.

Another for the torrent download list.

Based on your name and avatar, I think you'll really like this one. Please report back (even if you hate it).

It was regularly , a popcorn movie for teens. It was okay, but I hated the British street slang talk. Cannot understand much what they are saying.

They actually considered using subtitles when it was released in America.

Sounds awesome. I am a 45 year old mother of 3 and a supergeek! My daughter's boyfriend @thatguyjono is going to get it for us. More movie recommendations please!!!!

Fantastic! I really hope you like it. It is a bit gory though. I'm 45 years old as well. We have to stick together surrounded by all these young people ;)

That's for sure! Gory is fine. I will watch it tomorrow :)

Very nice review, brother! The movie was filmed very close to where I live. Was pretty impressed with the end result. I'm sure it'll become something of a cult classic... Great job, man!!

Thanks. I think
"cult classic" is a great way to describe it. Not the best movie ever but man it's fun.

Haven't seen it but it looks like something I might like...

I hope you do. Report back if you end up seeing it. I'm curious to hear what you think.

There's one to add to my watch list.

It's not going to change your world or help you reach enlightenment. But it's a good 82 minute "popcorn movie".

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jan 07. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $8.41 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 07 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I hope you do. Report back if you end up seeing it. I'm curious to hear what you think.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71219.01
ETH 3807.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50