Operation Finale (film): A surprisingly "meh" Ben Kingsley film

in #movies5 years ago

I love Ben Kingsley. I feel he is one of the greatest actors alive today and most films that he is involved in are fantastic, particularly biopics. This one, however, kind of falls flat.


source

Featuring a wonderful combo of Kingsley and Oscar Isaac, Operation Finale is the true story about the location and arrest of Adolf Eichmann from Buenos Aires, where he was in hiding following the defeat of Nazi Germany in World War 2. The world sought to find and capture him to stand trial for war crimes in Israel for his involvement in "The Final Solution."

Just so you know "The Final Solution" is the Holocaust and this particular Adolf is considered to be one the major architects of the entire systematic slaughter of European Jews during World War 2.


source

As one would expect, Kingsley's portrayal of Eichmannis stellar as is Oscar Isaac's portrayal of Peter Malkin (an Israeli secret agent and one of the men instrumental in capturing Eichmann.) However, the overall film progresses very slowly and viewers find themselves very bored during the movie's more than 2 hours of showtime.

Because the story itself isn't very exciting (how can extradition really be exciting?) The story had to be embellished quite a bit and they even introduced a completely fictional love story into the mix... just to pass the time a bit better. I think that was their intention with the love story, but for most viewers it just seemed dumb and unnecessary.

operation-finale-oscar_isaac_and_ben_kingsley_courtesy_metro.jpg
source

The above picture pretty much embodies a vast majority of the film: Kingsley and Isaac sitting on a bed talking to one another. That is 60% of the movie and wow does it drag on.

The film also received criticism for depicting Argentina's government not just as sympathetic to Eichmann, but showing them of being supportive of Nazism and actively attempting to protect him from facing justice. I actually have no idea if Argentina was supportive on the Nazis, i am just repeating what I read.

I think the most interesting part of the film for me was the flashbacks to Nazi Germany as recounted by Eichmann during interviews. Also, the fact that Nick Kroll is playing the only non-comedic role I have ever seen him in was pretty cool but you know, a bit tough to take him seriously... maybe he'll do some more stuff like this and prove his worth as a dramatic actor. This did not change how boring and slow-paced the film was overall.

This movie has higher marks than I feel it deserves in the online community but I think a lot of that has to do with the fact that it is kind of taboo to "downvote" anything about this subject matter.

On a scale of "Urgh!" to "Wowsers!" I give Operation Finale the overall score of.... <h3?

skip-it-skip-it-good.jpg

Sort:  

There is a reason he was knighted :) I like him a lot too. Your review of this movie reminds me of an old man that used to come into Radio Shack when I worked there during college. He drove an old gold BMW or Benz and had just about the thickest German accent I had ever heard aside from the neighbor lady across the street from my mom and dad's house. A guy I was working with one day asked where he was from. He told us that he was from Brazil and the guy I was working with about lost it. It wasn't until the guy had left that he explained the possible significance to me of the guy being from South America...

I saw it on YouTube to see it very good movie about the life of this Nazi who was one of the so-called architects of the final solution, and as they found their capture, I really like a scene when the young woman is in love with some elos relatives of the Nazi and leaves scared to see horror that is in their town full of Nazis is incredible as many fled and did not die with their ideology this shows that not everything is what it seems and that the coward only amenenaza when he feels safe.

good post, your story is great, i like to read your story.

He has a big nose! I like your post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56835.87
ETH 2399.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39