Life (Sci Fi film - Netflix): It's got some good and some bad

in #movies5 years ago

I have to admit that I was drawn into this movie based on the fact that Ryan Reynolds and Jake Gyllenhaal are in it and it is a sci-fi horror film. These are things that have (kinda) worked for me since I first saw Alien all those years ago. It has a very high production value and it is reasonably good. There are other reasons for watching it though and I hesitate to get into too much detail on the specifics.


source

The plot is typical enough. Space explorers found some sort of life on Mars and they have brought it back to high orbit over earth to study it. The creature they found is very small and has some characteristics that are needed back on earth for some reason that I am not going to tell you because honestly I don't remember it.... It isn't really essential to the story.


source

The creature starts out almost cutesy but things quickly change as the astronauts find themselves basically being held hostage in a giant metal tube known as the international space station. The creature gains in power over time and I can't say for sure if this is automatic or it gains its power by consuming astronauts - I dunno, maybe that is its favorite food.

This movie isn't fantastic, because it is actually a bit annoying how the crew makes the same mistakes over and over again and also screws up certain things that despite being in space is akin to the girl running away from the axe murderer but can't manage to not trip over things in the woods. There are also massive spaces of really boring dialogue that I found myself skipping (and I encourage you to do the same unless you find that sort of thing gripping.)

Perhaps my description sounds a bit vague, but I can assure you that this is intentional. This film has a lot of typical horror progression (if that makes any sense) but it also has some really creative visuals as well as relatively believable space physics (i'm not a physicist, but it seems about as realistic as say, the film Gravity.) There are also some turns that the average viewer really does not expect and I always enjoy that in any film made in 'Merica, because it is so rare.

Basically, i would say watch this if you have netflix, and be ready with the remote if the sometimes-apparent-filler dialogue starts to bore you as it did me.

On scale of "Urgh!" to "Wowsers!" I give "Life" an overall rating of.....


id-say-better-than-average.jpg

Sort:  

Yeah, this movie has 2 sides, one is great because well it's a horror movie in space and that is always awesome but the hard failes made by the crew makes it a bit meh ... I mean sure let us do some experiments with a creature from outer space without having some working emergency protocols ...

But I still like the movie ^^

Are you a cinema lover, as you watch plenty of series and movies, I like your reviews.anyway I am a big fan of sci-fi movies but this doesn't seems lucrative.
Anyways keep reviewing and enjoy watching!

Well I work from home so I have Netflix on constantly. I pay $8 a month for it so I'm trying to get my money's worth?

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh that's great, and my friend have Netflix's mobile only plan , which costs him $3.5 a month! and yes if you are paying money you should make it worth.
Regards.

Deadpool in a spacesuit, that should be interesting to watch!

He behaves like Deadpool in the film...which I think is a mistake if he wants to be taken seriously as an actor

Posted using Partiko Android

Ah, interesting. I agree. Jim Carrey, Mr. Bean, Ryan Renolds. ;)

I'd rate it bad to average (at best). I enjoyed The Cloverfield Paradox (which came out a year after this) more. Both are terrible, but Cloverfield stars Elizabeth Debicki so I liked it more 😅😅

i like the way you organize your rating system. haha. I have said the same about anything that stars Bruce Campbell

This is one of those movies that I don't if I loved or hated. I mean, it's got its good moments and great turns, but it also has boring parts. And the end is like "WT-?". Although I never forgot the name Calvin, I wouldn't recommend it. But I agree on that: is better than average. Greetings.

Thank you
Got something to watch tonight
I like sci fi movies

Posted using Partiko iOS

This is very good film... I like this :)
Soon I go look it one more time :)

I couldn't stop myself from constantly sleeping during this movie lol

Posted using Partiko Android

very good movie :)

I still think The Abyss is one of the greatest of this sort of genre. Though it only started out as horror and then morphed into something totally different. With the cast that is involved in this movie you would have thought it could be a lot better. Reynolds has always had a good inclination towards comedy, so it would seem that something a bit more dramatic doesn't suit him well. Jake I would think can handle it though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65375.87
ETH 3337.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63