Cat's Eye (film) This was a real winner in the 80's

in #movies5 years ago

Retro Fun Awesomeness! I remember watching this movie many times when I was a kid thanks to the spoiled brat kid that lived across the street from us whose parents would buy him whatever it took to make him stop being a pain in the ass. They had a Betamax collection of films that stretched across the entire living room wall so going over to his house was a real treat. His Dad also had an orange Corvette, which today seems a lot less cool than it did in the 80's.

Anyway, moving on.... to Cat's Eye!


source

This one was a collection of stories all written by Steven King and 2 of the stories are somewhat related and are witnessed by (as the name would suggest) a cat.


source

The first story involves Dick Morrison (James Woods) who has gone to a radical new program to assist people in quitting smoking. The company basically stalks you and does terrible things to you and your family if they ever catch you smoking. haha! This would definitely be effective for most people and while it does have some elements of horror, mostly it is just great comedy.


The second story called "The Ledge" sees Morrison (again, James Woods) in a situation where he is forced to circumnavigate a penthouse apartment from the ledge outside. I do not remember why he had to do this but it doesn't matter.


source

Again, this isn't really horror so much as it is dread playing on a very common fear of heights. It does a good job considering the time period and the relatively small budget of only $7 million. I wonder how much of that went to James Woods. The cat, as in the previous story, has very little to do with the story other than being the reason why we are there to watch it.


The 3rd story is the best one of the 3 and this time the Cat actually plays an active role. It also features Drew Barrymore in one of my favorite roles I have seen her be involved in.


source

Amanda (Drew Barrymore)'s family takes in a stray cat, who they name "General." However, they insist the cat stay outside at night which is unfortunate because Amanda is actually stalked by a small troll at night that is living in the walls (this is very common in North Carolina)

This trailer pretty much embodies every trailer that existed in the 80's as it seems that nearly every trailer had the same guy doing the narration. Obviously, since this movie was made nearly 35 years ago, it isn't going to stand up to today's standards. However, it was a great example of what the industry was capable of back at that time and you also need to understand that pretty much anything Stephen King did got made into a movie back then.

This movie is probably not considered great, but it was pretty special to me because it was right on the threshold of what I was allowed to watch at that point in my life. Drew Barrymore got nominated for Young Artist Award for Best Starring Performance by a Young Actress because of this movie. I think she was much better as a child actress than as an adult... but maybe that is just me.

Personally I wish that more studios would make anthology films. This is one of the first ones I remember seeing.

id-say-better-than-average.jpg

especially considering the time-period

Sort:  

Aaah, good one :)
I remember my brother showed me the movie when I was 6....I was really afraid by night that this gnome will come. ..but we had a cat too...:)))) so in my kids fantasy i was sure that my cat could do the same.
Resteemed

Ah man! I can’t believe I haven’t heard of this at all! What the hell... maybe I’m loosing brain cells out here in China... anyway, I guess I’ll watch it tonight :) I was going to watch the old pet semetery, but I’ve seen it! I do want to watch the new pet semetery actually...

Side note - I watched the nun the other day and thought it was crap!

oh, that's good to know. I was on the fence about seeing that one but you just saved me 90 minutes :)

"They had a Betamax collection"
"An orange Corvette"
That's awesome, talking about retro.
I hope we can time travel back one day. :)

Amazing review, you know I'm pretty much not aware of films done before 2004 really and anytime I see your reviews I'm always making sure to go get and watch them, I haven't seen this one really but seems thrilling from what I read and yet sometimes some people are better at being child actors, I know of a dozen

Now I feel bad for not having heard of it...

Anyways, Happy Easter mate

well, i think if it is older than you are... you get a free pass :P

I agree with you “Cat's Eye” is a pretty no-frills anthology. Looked at it already three times in my life. The film that you want to revise, it is incredible interesting. Here they like the cat and the actors, they like the city streets and skyscrapers rushing to the skies, shaking the morals and principles of the inhabitants of the metropolis. I also liked the special effects and make-up in the film. Excellent screen version of the novels of Stephen King. 80th such 80th. Sometimes it makes me very sad that such a cinema has remained deep in the past.

I enjoy reading your movie reviews and I'll tell you a secret, I'm also marking a few films reviewed by you so I can watch them later 😀, my waiting list is getting longer and longer every day. So I guess I have to say thank you, especially because you have a different taste or just giving every film a chance.
I haven't seen or heard of this one but it sounds interesting.

I remember this movie. It was definitely a different model than what people were used to at the time. The fact that it had three separate, but somewhat linked stories was really interesting. For a movie anyway.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59944.92
ETH 2307.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48