31 Days of Horror: The Wicker Man

in #movies7 years ago

I can’t remember when I first heard of the Wicker Man but I remember listening to the Metal Director on my college radio station debut Iron Maiden’s eponymous song. I would later see it on various countdown lists. Then came the remake which I caught the end of in a hotel and since it was dedicated to Johnny Ramone I couldn’t hate it just yet. Once I had a Netflix subscription I was finally able to see the original.

Christopher Lee gives an amazing performance and lists it as one of his favorites. I don’t mind spoilers but for this one I wish I went in blind because the final reveal is jaw dropping. Even though I knew what was coming I felt Sgt. Howie’s terror at what he saw. I wonder if this movie had any influence on the British pro wrestling scene because I heard the feud between Big Daddy and Giant Haystacks was almost symbolic like a war between savage Pagans and civilized Christians.

Sort:  

A truly creepy movie. One of those “if this were me, I’d do this” kind of watching experience.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61875.77
ETH 2403.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64