31 Days of Horror: Cat's Eye

in #movies7 years ago

Do you remember the first movie you watched that was based on a Stephen King story? It wasn’t Carrie or the Shining for me, it was Cat’s Eye. This is going to be another that I need to go back and watch once more. The thing that I remember the most is when James Woods had to watch his wife and kid shocked because he was caught smoking. My mom was a heavy chainsmoker at that time and if they could shock the girl in the film they’d shock me too.

Besides nostalgia the other reason I want to go back and watch it is because I really dig the anthology horror format. I loved the Tales From the Crypt series along with sci-fi anthologies like the Twilight Zone and the Outer Limits. A recent horror anthology flick that’s gaining a following is Trick ‘r Treat which I may discuss later in the month.

Sort:  

Hello @freemarketkev. I watched all of the Tales From The Crypt Series a few months ago. Every episode and it was surprising to see certain actors and pop stars, such as Bruce Willis and Adam Ant in them and I started to see a pattern as if the episodes were testing grounds for actors and performers and it does seem like a lot of famous folk went through the Crypt doors and came out the other side with much more solvent contracts (and there were a lot of ands in that paragraph :) ).

Thanks for sharing. I've read the text, but will watch the trailer now. Nice one.

I know for some it was the first time that they tried their hand at directing. I always liked the episode that had Sam Kinison as the conscience of a crooked promoter.

I watched them all in a block, so to speak, watching ten each night or a similar amount and that does ring a bell. Just read it, so still trying to work it out and not an insta-Googler when I can't remember something. I'l take my thoughts to the shop with me and hopefully it'll come back to me. I do feel that I should know it immediately, but early half of the day, so not functioning too well right now :).

I think you're right about the directing and some did more than others, but I found some links between people and was looking for any clues as to what goes on in Hollywood, butu never found anything solid, but lots of synchronicities.

Thanks for the reply and I'll get my thinking cap on.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64076.80
ETH 3516.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64