You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Vanishing (1988) - "Sometimes I imagine she's alive. Somewhere far away..."

in #movies4 years ago (edited)

Is your favorite genre suspense? I don't think I will watch the remake hehe.

Btw, there is a very weird movie I watched recently but decided not to write about, at least not yet. It is from a Russian director, the movie is called Stalker have you seen it? I also have the movie Solaris from the same director and will probably watch it this weekend.

I think you might enjoy the movies from this director. I saw the Hollywood version of Solaris some time ago but I am really interested in watching this earlier and more original version. Also, have you watched the new Devs series? it became one of my favorites. This is the article I wrote about it https://steemit.com/series/@dedicatedguy/devs-the-box-contains-us-the-box-contains-everything-and-inside-the-box-is-another-box

Sort:  

Hey man,

I have been wanting to reply to this for a while ( but I hardly visit Steemit nowadays )

The suspense (sub)genre has definitely been my favorite for a long time. Ever since I saw Hitchcock's 'The Birds' on TV, in my early teens.

Many of my favorite movies fall in that category. In fact, now I think of it, I like it way more than horror ( even though I used to think that it was horror that I loved ).

I definitely know Stalker. Tarkovsky was a legendary filmmaker and movies like these are the kind of food that I devoured in the years that I studied film ( history ) in University ( 2000 to 2007 ). Solaris and Stalker are among my favorite movies ever, also because I love sci-fi and movies that intellectually challenge me without being boring.

I also watched the George Clooney remake of Solaris. It's not bad but incomparable to the original.

By the way, I read the book 'Solaris' by Stanislav Lem ( that Tarkovsky's movie is based on ). It's amazing! If you read sci-fi ( I read a lot of it ), I highly recommend it.

I will check out Devs but must admit that I hardly watch series these days as I really value my time.

Un abrazo and let's connect more on Hive from now on,

Vincent

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62647.38
ETH 3335.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46