You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Geeky Guy’s Movie Guide to The Cloverfield Paradox (2018)

in #movies6 years ago (edited)

Part of what i try to do when discussing movies with people is not shit on things that they like. People have different tatstes, and that’s that.

That being said, i didn’t like this. I thought it was a mess, way too derivative, and just like Cloverfield Lane—it was never supposed to be a Cloverfield movie. Abrams or whoever has basically started scouting scripts/projects that can’t get off the ground or need an additional angle, snag it up, and then co-opt it into a Cloverfield sequel. While i never loved the first movie, i had great fun with all of the viral stuff and Easter eggs. It was a whole social mythos that was cool. But these last two movies (i reaaaaaly likes Cloverfield Lane until the shoehorned ending) don’t really add to that in a meaningful way, imo. I want to see a sequel that was ACTUALLY supposed to be the sequel. I Actully think i would’ve been More okay with this if it wasn’t a Cloverfield movie, because like you said it has a great cast, some interesting bits, and a suspenseful moment or two.

In the end, i just feel like this is a cheap way to build that universe, and honestly it doesn’t even feel like it fits to me.

Sort:  

I don't get too sensitive about matters of opinion. I knew I was going to be in the minority with this one for sure. I had a ton of fun with the viral marketing 10 years ago and then again with Cloverfield Lane so that played a huge role in why I enjoyed this.

For me this movie was just a tiny piece of the overall puzzle. Not my favorite piece. Actually 20 years from now, I hope I consider this the worst part of the anthology... because that will mean there were a lot of cool movies after it

I have heard that Cloverfield is trying to be an anthology similar to The Twilight Zone but with some kind of common thread. Imagine if all of those Twilight Zone episodes had a detail that tied them all together. So I saw this one as a way to basically explain everything that will be under the Cloverfield umbrella. How do monsters end up in a Nazi occupied village during the D-Day invasion? The Shepard accelerator made anything and everything possible.

I guess that’s part of what i don’t like. It seems like a a bit of a cop out to really crafting the story of how it all went down. But alas, different strokes.

It’s interesting that you bring up the anthology stuff because apparently Black Mirror has some way to link every episode together. I just started the new season, so I’m not sure how (definitely noticed some similar tech 8n different episodes) but I’ll be interested to see.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87