I'm really late to the party but how good was Thor Ragnarok!

in #movies6 years ago

I finally got around to seeing Thor Ragnarok last week on our flight to New Zealand and I thought it was superb. Director Taika Waititi brought the relaxed humourous style that we say in What We Do In the Shadows and Hunt for the Wilderpeople to the Marvel universe. If you haven't seen it, I thoroughly recommend seeing it, ideally on a big screen rather than a little one on a plane.



I'm not going to write too much about the film because I don't want to spoil it. I thought the casting and acting was excellent and fitted Waititi's style perfectly. Chris Hemsworth and Tom Hiddleston adapted perfectly to the new style and Jeff Goldblum was the perfect choice for an eccentric dictator since he can be wacky without hamming it up too much.



I think the main reason I loved the movie was because it was extremely funny and had many references to Australia and New Zealand. The trailer had already shown the Skux Life graffiti Easter egg (a nod to Hunt for the Wilderpeople) but throughout the movie there were numerous in-jokes for New Zealand and Australian audiences (Waititi is a New Zealander, Hemsworth is an Australian). I won't spoil any of the good jokes (and I'm sure there will be more I notice on a second watch) but watch out for nods to The Castle, a famous New Zealand TV ad, and spaceships named after Australian cars among many other references.



I would be curious to know how non-Australasian audiences found the film. It was a big change of style for the MCU and they would be less likely to get all of the Australian and New Zealand references.

All images from (c) Disney/Marvel from imdb.com

Sort:  

I didn’t read your post. Just upvoted in case of spoilers. I’m going to go this week. Super excited.

No real spoilers in the post but definitely come back after you have seen it. Hopefully you love it.

Haven't seen this movie yet because the cinemas here have not starting selling tickets to see it, but I plan on seeing it soon because I loved every inch of the trailer.

The movie outdoes the trailer :)

The short answer of course is "very".

In a bit longer answer, it's certainly one of the better films in the MCU franchise, and certainly up with Guardians of the Galaxy for the fun factor, which is when I think Marvel is doing it's best is when it's having fun with the subject matter. There's so much going on, but it's great to see that there is still fun being had while still advancing plot (both internal and overarching) and characters.

And it's never not fun watching Goldblum chewing the scenery

Loved the film. Only thing I didn't like was the comedic beat in the finale few seconds which I thought ruined a dramatic moment.

It was one of Marvel's most fun movies. The first one where Hulk had lines, and I think the Marvel audience was so glad to have that. Hulk is a cool person you'd like to hang out with and we got to see that. And Jeff Goldblum almost stole the whole show, seriously.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65353.50
ETH 3202.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61