Tommy Wieseau's "The Room" is one of the greatest move of all time

in #movies7 years ago

I know that no-one agrees with me on this, but I do believe that Tommy Wiseau is one of the greatest filmmakers of all time, and The Room is one of the greatest movies. I am completely serious. Here is my futile attempt to explain my position.
The Room Picture

This movie sucks you in from the very beginning

The first time I put this on for my wife she simply allowed me to put it on. She specifically said that she didn’t promise to watch it. She thought that she would just stare at her phone while it was on to appease me. That way she could say that she allowed me to have it on, and it was terrible.

The first scene caught her and hooked her. After that, she was on the roller coaster that is "The Room." She didn’t even know she was on it. Every time she tried to pick up her phone. There it was again, pulling her back. One fantastic scene after another. Her experience was the same experience I have had with most people I have watched The Room with. They have no clue what they are in for and the experience they are about to have. It’s a ride I get to take them on. I truly do love that ride.

The Room makes you think

This movie forces you to think more critically than you ever have while watching a movie. Nothing fits together based on any previous movies you have seen. So, you have to spend the time in your mind attempting to unravel Tommy Wiseau’s thought process.

You have to try to piece scenes together from other scenes to figure out a picture of what you think the story is that he is trying to tell you. Every piece adds another layer of thought process that has to be deciphered. You argue with yourself while watching this movie. You second guess your reality. You could have sworn that the previous scene is in direct contrast to the current scene.

You don’t understand why anything is happening, and if anything is happening all at the same time. It is challenging to describe this movie without sounding insane. Just relaying this movie to others is its own mental exercise.

The Room makes you experience genuine emotion

You are tearing me apart lisa image

There are parts of this movie where I am disgusted. Parts when I am angry. Parts when I am bored. Parts where I can’t even explain the complex emotion that I might be going through. Parts where I laugh so hard, I start to cry. Parts where I am simply just smiling, because of how happy I am.

Most people who see this movie hate this movie. However, that hate is a genuine, and pure hate of this movie. The few that do love this movie love it and put it on a platform of its own.

I don’t know how many movies I have seen. That I just thought were simply bad movies. After watching them, and then taking some time they always fade to black in my mind and are just added to the catalog of shitty movies that I have seen. This rarely happens to a person who has seen "The Room" and hated it. They keep hating it. It sticks with them. It won’t leave them. It leaves it’s mark whether you like it or not.

The Room leaves an impact

Tommy holding Denny

Think about the best movies you have ever watched. Think about how you felt, and the discussion you had afterward. Now, if I were to ask you to watch The Room with me. I would bet you a dollar. You will more likely have more of an emotional reaction, and want to talk about what happened more in The Room than the best movies you have ever watched.

You will hear people talk about the greatest movies of all time. While out in public, or at work. Sometimes you comment back. Or, provide your critical response to the movie in question. It’s usually a few lines then the movie of discussion is discarded. On to the next movie, or some other piece of entertainment.

You hear someone talk about The Room in public or at work. You will perk up, and have something to add. Most likely a very long conversation about this singular movie. With people on both sides of the spectrum. Either loving or hating it. Just having conversations with other people about this movie leaves an impact.

Whether you hate it or love it. You are damn well going to want to talk about it.

The lore around the movie is just as important as the movie

Flickr Image of Tommy
Talking about the movie is how the lore starts. Below I have one link for the movie, but tons of other links to everything that surrounds it. The amazing book that was written about the making of it. The trailer for the movie about the book. Interviews that he has done. Interviews that Greg Sestario has done. Articles about the movie. All trying to explain the mystery of this movie. The lore is just as good as the movie. The mystery of Tommy is like no other mystery I have ever come across.

The lore drives a following of this movie like no other. The first time I had seen this movie I thought that it was just the worst movie I had ever seen. Then you listen to podcasts about it, and read books about it, and watch interviews about it, and re-watch it over and over again. To incorporate the knowledge you acquired to fill in the gaps. Then one day you realize that you just fell in love with this movie.

I genuinely love this movie

No other movie has affected my film watching like this one has. I want to show this movie to anyone I am close to. I want to see everything that I have described above on the faces of my dearest friends. I love answering questions, and providing insight when they are going on their own journeys.

I have easily watched The Room over a dozen times, and if anyone wants to watch it I am always up for another viewing. I’m always up for talking about it with anyone who has seen it and trying to convince anyone who hasn’t to watch it.

Please, readers, think about this. I have written an entire piece on a movie in which I never discuss one event that actually occurred in the movie. However, I still have enough thoughts to fill an entire post. To me, that is an amazing movie and an amazing film creator at work.

Mr. Wiseau if you ever read, please know you have one true fan. You are one of the greatest.


Links

CNN Official Interview: Tommy Wiseau & Greg Sestero on 'The Room'

Tommy Wiseau talks James Franco, Hollywood respect and underwear

Tommy Wiseau Interview- The Room, Background, Scene Breakdown, etc- Sam Roberts FULL INTERVIEW

The Morning Show: Inside the Room

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58659.71
ETH 3164.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43