Wonder Woman - What was the Point? (Movie Review - Better late than never....)

in #movies7 years ago (edited)

Firstly thank you for the really positive response from my very first post. Cheers Steemians, two thumbs up!!

So, I'm new to the whole blogging thing. I love movies, I love comics, so I thought id give this a go. Probably going to keep it pretty short and see how it's received.

Potential Spoilers!
You have been warned, my conscience is clear.

Right Wonder Woman. The way I see this film - it's got a lot riding on it. Firstly, Waner Bros. / DC needs a massive win, after the first three films in the DC Extended universe: Man of Steel, Batman VS Superman and Suicide Squad, being rather poorly received and failing to perform in the the box office how Waner Bros wanted. Secondly, female super hero's haven't had a good run, take for example: CatWoman, Electra, Super Girl, have all been shocking. So it's got a lot riding on it from a fans perspective.

In short, it's decent. I liked it a lot. Gender equality (I F@£!ing hate the term feminist) is a really big issue for me, so I really wanted to see a female lead super hero movie do well. It delivers, no matter how similar to the first Captain America it is. There is no massive tie into the Justice League, it is there but in no way does it set up and dictate the movie in any way. If anything it left me wanting to see more of Wonder Woman in Justice League.

The Villain.

There are three physical villains – Dr Poison, Ludedorff and Aries. But Diana and Steve Trevor are each fighting their own different evils. Wonder Woman believes she is there to fight the God Aries, while Steve is fighting the evil of humanity portrayed as the Germans in WW1. David Thewlis portraying Aries “the God' is questionable however, I liked it. Here's why: If I was to believe in a god, evil or good, I would want it to be all powerful. Able to take any form, deceive and manipulate in anyway and be hidden in plain sight. Well, I didn't see it coming. I liked that. I did prefer when he was more of a ghost and wonder woman was unable to get at him, this made the hero vulnerable, which when it comes down to it is what we go to see. I thought that when he came armored it becomes pretty stock standard, big villain, big punches, big explosion, entertaining but still the least entertaining fight scene in the movie.

The Cast.

Huge fan of Gal Gadot & Chris Pine. I thought they were great casting, the chemistry was good and I believed in the love interest. I also thought that they played their comedic parts well!

The Cinematography

Shot length and perspective are a huge thing for me. Patty Jenkins did an excellent job of putting you right amongst the action. I felt the power in Wonder Woman, zipping around the room kicking Sh1t out of everyone. It felt a lot lighter than the tone set by Zack Snyder in BvS and I'm pleased about this, you know its not completely joyless!

What was the point?

“You can do something, or nothing” this is a line said by Steve Trevor. I think this sums up the point of the film. This film is a bout a hero with the perfect balance of good, passion & power - that we have always wanted to see not only in a hero but in humanity. Coupled with making the choice to do something, not out of vengeance, not out of hate. There are scenes in this movie where the world is at war and people choose to do absolutely nothing. Diana has a desire to do something, even as a child. This is what I believe appeals to the audience that has witnessed a lot of hurt in the real world. She points out whats wrong and immediately tries to fix it. Deep down, we all want her to be real to fix the worlds problems.

So! Its good. Go see it.

4/5 Stars

Please let me know what you think!

Sammy

Image 1

Sort:  

Congratulations @darville! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @darville! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62233.47
ETH 2998.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50