Throwback Thursday: The Warriors

in #movies6 years ago

 Waaaaarriors, come out to plaaaaaaay! The Warriors is a very unique and fun movie. Based around the efforts of a gang to get back to their territory after being framed for the murder of local hero and leader of the largest gang in New York Cyrus, the Warriors face some interesting challenges on the long journey home.

 This movie is just plain fun. The soundtrack, the fights, the action scenes all mesh together perfectly to make an entertaining and memorable movie. The story was based on a novel license which kind of surprised me. Other than the same general concept they don't have much in common, which is actually pretty common with Hollywood adaptations. Apparently at the time of release rival gangs would end up in the same theater to watch it and get in to a real life brawl, this caused Paramount to pull advertising for the movie for a few weeks. Uncharacteristically the studio also offered to pay for extra security and damages caused by rowdy patrons. 

 When the movie was released it met with harsh critique and received generally bad reviews from critics, as often happens audiences disagreed. While negative advertising and poor reviews kept it from doing overly well in the theaters it gained a cult following and has always done well when a new home video product comes around. The movies sustained popularity has led many critics to walk back their criticisms(much like the original Star Wars) and it currently is held in generally high regard.

 I first saw The Warriors with my father when I was around twelve. I re-watch it every year or two and always enjoy it. It is such a unique movie you really can't adequately describe it to someone who hasn't seen it. I can say the soundtrack is very memorable, it has many memorable lines and some very creative gang designs(see the Baseball Furies for an example). It was made in 1979 and still holds up very well. The cast shines when they are together and you can feel the real life comradeship that developed during the shoot of the movie(which was notoriously difficult, over-budget, and dangerous with bricks being thrown at the actors filming in the Bronx, shooting also had to be suspended because of a double murder investigation happening nearby). The people who made this movie went through a lot and it really shows in the final product.

 The Warriors definitely has that timeless quality. You should watch this movie at least once in your life. It is not for everyone but I enjoy it. I would also say read the book, it is a much different experience and you may like it if you don't enjoy the movie. Thank you for reading! I will leave you with one of my favorite parts of the soundtrack.

Sort:  

One of my favourite movies. A cult classic. I read the book, but the movie is way better. Great review.

I definitely prefer the movie to the book, thanks for reading!

That was always a good one. I need to watch something good because I have been watching a lot of garbage for my reviews lately. Maybe I will revisit this one.

Always worth a re-watch especially if you haven't seen it in a while, thanks for reading!

No problem.

Yeah I have been posting in different tags mostly since the asshole-empire fizzled out. I have kind of shifted to reviewing bad movies (or at least movies that I think will be bad) because those reviews seem to do a little better for me. The drug content I do does ok too. I'm usually around and I try to check peoples pages directly to get their content because stuff gets hard to find in my feed but the trade off is that it takes a little longer to find things.

Resteemed by @xtdevelopment! Good Luck!
Curious? Then read our introduction post
Get more with the #NanoCheeZe initiative

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62622.67
ETH 2944.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61