Wind River - Movie ReviewsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #movies7 years ago

windriver.jpg

I have to admit, I was intrigued by the movie trailer for Wind River. I am often not impressed by films that are highly touted at the film festivals, although I am often surprised when I get around to watching some of them. Wind River was one of those films that impressed me. Festival premieres often feature dodgy topics, unknown actors and/or experimental processes. This film had big names, from the Director/Writer (Taylor Sheridan, whose films Sicario and Hell or High Water are films I really enjoyed) to the actors (headlined by Jeremy Renner and Elizabeth Olsen).

windriver2.jpg

I like a good thriller. Wind River delivers a deliberately paced thriller with little in the way of twists, but plenty in the way of suspense. The film felt a lot like Sheridan's other work. Slow and deliberate, with characters that can hold up to the sluggish pacing. Because the characters are good, the film works. This film also had the sense of isolation, clear cut antagonists and mildly flawed protagonists of the other films. Most of the characters seemed human, aside from the bad guys, where depth did not have time to develop. Nor was it necessary for this story to work.

windriver3.jpg

This story paired Elizabeth Olsen as a rookie FBI agent (Jane Banner) who teams up with a grizzled Bureau of Land Management employee (Jeremy Renner, as Corey Lambert) to solve a murder. Or two. Set against the backdrop of the large, isolated, Wind River Indian Reservation, the plot unravels as Banner enlists the aid of Lambert to solve the crime. On the reservation, traditional investigation has limited application. Lambert's tracking skills are crucial to solving the crime. As new elements of the crime surface, the investigation leads in an unexpected direction. The narrative arc culminates with mounting tension before a quick action scene. The loose ends are tied together with precision, making the ending worthwhile. It is a tough film to tie together, given the subject matter. But Sheridan handles the conclusion deftly.

windriver4.jpg

The narrative arc was gradual, but timely. The pacing seemed slow a couple of times, but that tends to be the norm in suspense films. It wasn't distracting. Particularly because I liked the characters. That was a combination of great dialogue and superb acting. Aside from the lead actors, strong performances were delivered by Graham Greene and Gil Birmingham. The story was interesting enough, not completely linear, but mildly predictable. But the delivery was satisfying. I enjoyed the way the tension built, leading to the inevitable confrontation and resolution. I also liked that some research was done. Immediately before the apex of the story, the dialogue flagged what was coming. This was an intentional flag that the reservation police chief immediately picked up on. For law enforcement or military types, the scene will ring true. I am also a "round counter." In one shooting scene, that was handled properly, although I was mildly perturbed that a rookie FBI agent would clear a house with her weapon fully extended rather than proceeding at close combat pistol. The climactic scene also went a bit too far with the round count...but I can let that one slide. For the most part, the film seemed tactically accurate.

windriver5.png

There was a lot to like about Wind River. Some may find the pacing too sluggish, but I thought it was fine. The acting and character development assisted in my "buy in" to the film. I think the film should have chosen not to claim that this story was inspired by true events considering how utterly tenuous that claim was. I attempted to read about the true story, guided by the location. It led me to a 2012 expose about general neglect of the Wind River Reservation along with numerous issues it faces. That was not the crux of this film. While it provided a generous backdrop, to suggest a film is true (in my opinion) should require that major elements of the film have a foundation in reality. The film ended with an acknowledgment that no statics are kept for missing women on Reservations. I am not sure how that fit into the film...it seemed an awkward way to tie things together, particularly when the narrative conclusion was satisfying enough. It is poignant, but not particularly relevant. Overall, I left the film satisfied by characters I had a chance to meet and know. I experienced a story that seemed complete. I enjoyed myself. This is a film worth seeing at the theater, 8/10.

Sort:  

Congratulations @coldsteem! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

sounds like a very interesting movie, I dont either watch festival films as a first, I tend to just skip them actually. Will add this to my watchlist, thanks for a good review!

Great info @coldsteem i added to my watchlist .

Excellent review. I'm going to wait for streaming with this one, but it looks like a great movie. Aside from Marvel movies Elizabeth Olsen usually picks very good movies to be in.

I think I love her. Lol.

hhhh I might feel similarly. Aside that horrible fake eastern European something accent she tries in the Marvel movies. Sounds so bad!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62555.95
ETH 2435.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64