Pleasantly Surprising African American Movie Roles

in #movies5 years ago

I usually don't like watching movies with cliches and unfortunately for a long time, those with a major cast of African Americans usually fit that mould. There was always naked sexy time, people in need of anger management courses, addiction issues and infidelity.😊

It didn't mean I closed my mind to seeking out the good ones and this year I have been pleasantly surprised by Fast Color (2018) and Don't Let Go (2019).

fast color.jpg

Fast Color is about an African American family that has supernatural powers and their dynamic relationships. Gugu Mbatha-Raw is the main character and her tortured soul leads the whole family to an acceptance and what felt like redemption at the end of the movie.

don't let go.jpg

Don't Let Go is about family too. A family torn by corruption and murder. Some time travel movies are usually hard to follow. But not this one. I found myself at the edge of my seat, hoping for the bad guys to get what's coming to them. The major roles are played by David Oyelowo and Storm Reid.

I am a big fan of science fiction and the hard to believe. These two movies practically blew me away. And the performances by the largely African American players were outstanding. I highly recommend these movies.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62589.43
ETH 2437.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65