10 Cloverfield Lane... MUST SEE MOVIE! (Warning Spoilers)

in #movies7 years ago

Hello all, so yesterday I by chance stumbled upon a movie that you might have heard of called 10 Cloverfield Lane. Sounds familiar to a hit a few years ago: Cloverfield. But are the two connected? I'll answer that question later on in the review. Let's first take a look at the movie poster:

It doesn't give much away, other than a house sitting on top of a large space of land. The poster would probably make a bit more sense if you knew what the movie was actually about. So this is 10 Cloverfield lane (the name of the house only becomes significant later on). The movie is about a woman who gets into a car crash. When she wakes up she appears to be being held hostage by a creepy older man in an underground bunker. He tells her that the air above has become contaminated and that going above ground would result in certain death. Of-course the protagonist, Michelle becomes suspicious and when she and Emmet (who is also down in the bunker) try to escape, the man shoots him. I'm not going to go into all the details, however it is later revealed that the air above the earth is safe however is in the midst of an alien invasion... here's the link to alien movie Cloverfield.

One thing I really liked about this movie was the twist ending. You just could never have seen it coming and it was as if two films were merged into one. I mean, have you ever seen a film that is about a kidnapping... which then turns into sci-fi and aliens!?

Something I thought that could have been done better however was the clarity. I mean, some things just weren't fully explained, like what exactly Howard did to Brittany (the teenage girl who he kidnapped and pretended was his daughter). It was also never clarified if Howard DID drive into Michelle's car on purpose or if it was an accident as he claimed it was.
I'm hoping there will be a sequel to explain some of these unanswered questions, including where the bloody aliens came from and what they were doing on planet earth!

Anyway, this movie constantly kept me in suspense and on the whole was done very well. I'd rate it a 9 out of 10 and is definitely in my list of top ten movies! Let me know what you thought of this review or if you have seen this film down below in the comments and give me an upvote and a resteem if you enjoyed reading this post. If you want to read similar posts in the future, make sure you follow me so you don't miss out on anything. As always, thanks so much for reading and I hope that where ever you are in the world you have a great day!

Sort:  

I'll watch this movie.

I saw this movie and loved it !

Great review @charliesydney, I saw the movie and I really liked the end, being one of the best horror movies of 2016.My rating 8/10.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60826.65
ETH 2907.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54