Twenty films to watch when: you want a lighthearted comedy

in #movies7 years ago (edited)

A lot of the time, I find myself wanting to watch a film and knowing what genre I want, but not being able to find something specific to watch. I'll spend ages scrolling through Netflix, often getting bored and just doing something else. I decided I'm going to make a few lists like this so that if you're like me and you want to watch a lighthearted comedy/ visually stunning film/ action full of explosions, there'll be a whole list waiting for you, hopefully making your decision a bit easier. So in no particular order, here are twenty films you might like if you want to watch something funny that doesn't get too deep and doesn't take much effort to follow. I'll be doing a "witty comedies" list soon, so keep an eye out for that!

If there are any other lists you'd like me to make, please let me know!

dog-2367414_1920.png

1. The 40 Year Old Virgin
The film that gave Steve Carrell his breakthrough. Good cast, and silly humour without feeling stupid.

2. The Young Offenders
This is an Irish film that came out quite recently, and I can't recommend it highly enough. It's based on a true story of two teenagers trying to find treasure in the form of cocaine washed up on a beach. It's as crazy as it sounds.

3. What We Do in the Shadows
A mockumentary about vampires in New Zealand, really original stuff with a low-budget feel that adds to its "realness", which in turn adds to its humour.

4. Airplane!
An absolute classic, which you can tune in and out of and still find hilarious. As long as you know they're trying to land a plane, you can watch it at any point. Full of running gags and one-liners, really great stuff.

5. Monty Python and the Holy Grail
This is my favourite Monty Python film, and honestly, it's nice to see a medieval comedy that doesn't feature Robin Hood.

6. 13 Going on 30
Funny in the sweetest way, and features "Thriller" choreography. What's not to love?

7. Anchorman
Its fight scene is still inspiring parodies by real newscasters- that's how you know it's a classic.

8. Anchorman 2
Just thought I'd throw it in. Some say that sequels can't measure up to their originals, but I don't think that's the case here.

9. Step Brothers
I'm featuring Will Ferrell a lot in this list, but he's good at making you laugh without having to think too much about what he's saying. And we all love a bit of John C. Reilly, right?

10. Hot Fuzz
A dynamic duo fighting crime and getting a Cornetto along the way.

11. Shaun of the Dead
As you can see, I'm putting two out of the Cornetto trilogy in this list- I haven't seen the third one (The World's End) but I'll go out on a limb and say that if you like the other two, you'd probably like that as well.

12. The Simpsons Movie
It's a big, long episode of The Simpsons. What more could you want?

13. What Women Want
So maybe this would go into a rom-com list if I did one of those, but I also think this film is really funny whether or not you follow the plot. Men! Haha! Am I right, ladies?

14. Zoolander
You can just look up from your phone at any given time while this is playing, pause, and laugh at Ben Stiller's facial expression.

15. School of Rock
I'd been avoiding putting kids' films in this list up until now because I was going to save them for their own list, but this belongs here. Jack Black in his prime, hilarious kids, and most importantly, rock 'n' roll.

16. Shrek
A cinematic classic that needs no explanation.

17. Young Frankenstein
Anything with Gene Wilder is good, but this is is a classic that combines a good physical comedy and a great script.

18. Daddy Day Care
No matter how many films I watch, this will always be one of the funniest. Eddie Murphy and Jeff Garlin in charge of a bunch of four year olds? Sold.

19. Kung Fury
Only half an hour long, but absolutely hilarious. Contains every '80s trope you can think of... No, really, they're ALL in there.

20. Borat
Like many of the films on this list, you can tune in and out and still find this film funny. Each scene stands on its own, which is what you want when you're too tired to follow a plot.

There are, of course, so many more films that I find funny, but I plan on making more lists, so they'll probably come up in the future! Let me know of any films you'd recommend, and if there are any other lists you'd like to see!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68734.33
ETH 3745.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72