Dunkirk - You Should Watch It: A Movie Review

in #movies7 years ago (edited)

The beaches of Dunkirk, a soldier played by Fionn Whitehead.

Let me just start with saying "WOW! What a movie." I do not think I have ever been so excited for a movie... When I saw this trailer last year and it said it was going to be directed by Christopher Nolan about what happened at Dunkirk, there was no way I would have skipped on seeing this. I was not disappointed...

For those of you who do not know what happened at Dunkirk, I will explain a bit of what went down. Dunkirk is a city in north eastern France, right on the border of Belgium. During World War II this city was holding more than four hundred thousand British and French soldiers, surrounded on all sides by the German war machine.

The plan from Churchill was to evacuate these soldiers by destroyers, though this was difficult because all of the soldiers were stuck on the beach lined up waiting for their turn to be evacuated. Involved in the plan were civilians and soldiers alike since the navy did not have enough small vessels to reach the shoreline, this is where the civilian ships were used to save these men. It was believed only a small fraction of the soldiers would make it out of Dunkirk alive. However, a miracle was bestowed upon the souls at Dunkirk with the majority of soldiers escaping alive.

With that being said, I would like to note that this is a fictional story being told about these characters in the movie Dunkirk because Christopher Nolan himself said he did not believe it could be done justice any other way. He also filmed the movie this way so individuals like you and I will be wanting to look into the backstory of Dunkirk and do further research.

Now let's get to the review!

The movie starts out as a squad of soldiers in the streets of a city, we are unaware of where they are or why they are there. They are looking around for supplies, including, water and food. As well as anything else that would be useful, when suddenly a poster falls, showing them where they are.

Whenever everything seems as grim as it can get, they are open fired on from an unknown location, nearly every soldier dies in the escape from the incoming barrage of bullets. This moment tells me what the movie is going to be like, showing how these soldiers will have to survive every single moment they are on the beach if they ever want to make it back to their homes again.

I want to start off noting that the movie is unbelievably loud at certain points, which, I had no issue with. However, if you do not like loud movies, I would still recommend going and seeing this movie. The reason it is believed to be so turned up at certain scenes is that Christoper Nolan wanted to crank up the volume to immerse you in the situation, so we the viewers can understand what was happening there in the full effect. Putting us in the shoes best he could of what these souls went through the time they were​ there in Dunkirk.

This movie​ is a marvelous spectacle and should be seen on the biggest screen you can find. If the theaters do not offer the biggest screen you build your own if that is what it​ comes to. Nothing less than the best can supply what is needed for this spectacular​ movie.

The soldiers on the beaches after a bombing run.

This movie is beautiful and it has its very emotional moments, there were multiple people crying in the movies. I got a little teary from some of the scenes, which let it be known has never happened to me in any circumstance, on any occasion, in any movie. I was put in the movie, I felt like I was truly there when I was watching this. Christopher Nolan is by far one of the greats when it comes to movies. Seeing as no one else has pulled my emotions this way.

Conclusion:

If you did not have plans on seeing this movie you do now and I do not think waiting for it to come on DVD and watching it in your house will do this justice. You need to find the money if you do not have it and go with this the first moment you can. I am probably going to go rewatch this movie today, it has been a long time since I have literally dreamt about a movie. You will not be disappointed​ if you missed out on your car payment or house payment to see this movie. For this is not a movie, it is an experience like no other.

Overall Rating:

10/10

Note: I slept on this for a while, 9.5 or 10, I am giving this the 10/10 because it put me somewhere no other movie has. For that it gets a 10/10.

Thank You For Reading!

As always I would like to thank everyone for reading this and I hope I revealed something to you about this movie, or have shown you this movie for the first time. If you chose to go see it I would love to hear what you thought about it. As well as if you have anything you would like to say about this movie I would love to hear from you in the comments below​. I would also like to wish everyone a great day.

If you have not seen the trailer I will put it below for you!

Sort:  

The reason I will watch this movie becaue of Hary Stylesin there but after read this review Hary Styles is the second reason.

Thank you, I really appreciate the support. I am glad you like the review!

Loading...

Good review. Looking forward to watch the movie.

Thank you my friend, you will not be disappointed in your choice to go watch this one.

great review. Certain i wanne see it now!

You did not even like the post, I looked at your comments and saw you do this on peoples posts. I would like for you to remove your comment, thank you.

I certainly read it. But i will unfollow you. Wish you all the best here on steemit

https://i.imgur.com/CuJcc1K.gif
Watch online here
►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►
Click here:
►► http://moviezland.com ◄◄
►► http://moviezland.com ◄◄
►► http://moviezland.com ◄◄
-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
Watch online here
►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►
Click here:
►► http://moviezland.com ◄◄
►► http://moviezland.com ◄◄
►► http://moviezland.com ◄◄
-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=

86055

@ateazi
Nice Post!
Thanks for sharing this.

You did not even like the post, You post that on everyone's post, every other minute, I would like for you to remove your comment or I will keep you flagged.

@ateazi
I watched this movie too!!
I didn't like the post because I had very less voting power(30%). So, I stopped voting for few days.
I apologise​, if I hurt​ your feelings. Upvoted your posts now :)
keep sharing great reviews!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 55499.23
ETH 2917.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30