The Red Sparrow

in #moviereview6 years ago

No. Jennifer Lawrence was not the beautiful ballerina in the movie, it was a body double, and a whole dance team.

Yes. Jennifer really did get naked for the camera. In an interview with Paul Whitaker, she revealed that after she was hacked in a security breach in 2014 where nude pictures of her were stolen and shared, she decided to go nude as an empowerment scene.

No. It wasn't a really good movie. I thought she was going to be more of a super hero and the sex was going to be more limited and romantic. Instead, the violence was gory, the blood was more disgusting with shocking. And the sex, well, it was mostly rape and desperate seduction for survival. It depicted Russian women as lacking in love, indifferent to sex, and weapons of seduction.

The movie takes place in Russia and screams at Americans to dislike and distrust Russians, its hard to see it as anything but propaganda. The men are disgusting, the women are desperate and cruel. Smart, powerful people are fooled, and the United States is filled with life-respecting Americans who "just want to do what's best."

Gag.

So, I guess I didn't really like the movie.

Did you watch it? Let me know if you did in the comments.

I aim to visit and upvote everyone who leaves comments on my blog.

Sort:  

I also watched the movie and was disappointed with the results. I thought it was going to be an action, spy movie with Jennifer Lawrence as a blond Russian bad-ass with an epic past as an ballerina.

I thought maybe if it had Jennifer Lawrence in it, it would have been as good as The Hunger Games. I was wrong.

A super hero ballerina. That would have been a fun movie.

Maybe she should do that next. Id watch it.

I tend to never like movies with red covers. Usually yellow covers are more my type. Like LIttle Miss Sunshine, or Lady Bird, I think that had a yellow cover.

That's an interesting theory. I did like Little Miss Sunshine A LOT more than Red Sparrow.

But the movie Red was a favorite of mine (well, my kid liked it, so I watched it a lot by default).

Your kid has very good taste in movies. Red, is an awesome movie.

Well, she likes Star Wars ...

Again, very nice taste.

🧟‍♂️🧟‍♀️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66263.69
ETH 3419.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63