Phantom Thread - Overrated or I Missed Something

in #movie6 years ago (edited)

With high expectation I watched "Phantom Thread", and finished it with disappointment. I expected a deeper, more twisting and inspiring story, but all I got at the end was just a relatively plain love story with complicated details that are unrealistically exaggerated. Yes, the main character Reynolds Woodcock is not a "normal" dressmaker but rather a workaholic + perfectionist who is impossible to please, and his lover/wife is also "abnormal" enough to conceive some extreme action in order to gain what she wants. The first half is plain and boring to me and the second half is a little more interesting but at the end, still there's nothing significant...
(spoiler)
I enjoyed watching Mr. Woodcock chewing the poisonous pancake and swallowing it with great determination. But that's not enough for please me... I confess I expected him being dead at the end so something stunning might be unveiled... but that's not what happened.
I will rate it 6 on IMDB. And I am even think that's overrated because I enjoyed some movies with rate that are lower than that.
Or I missed something?

Phantom_Thread_Poster.jpeg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66254.46
ETH 3319.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69