You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bad-ass Anti Heroes From My Childhood

in #movie6 years ago

I have always had a weakness for the anti-hero figure...
In my case my icon childhood anti-hero was Jareth the Goblin King, portrayed by David Bowie in the movie Labyrinth.

I like some Morricone soundtracks, and gee young Clint Eastwood looks a lot like Hugh Jackman.

Sort:  

Yeah, I think that if Clint Eastwood was born a couple decades later, he would play Wolverine for sure :-) And Labyrinth was great! But still, I have another favorite Bowie film: "Merry Christmas, Mr. Lawrence". I watched that film, to my own surprise, until the end: it's not a feel-good movie at all as it paints a dark picture of prisoners of war in a Japanese camp during WW2. There's no action and long conversations. But the culture-clash between East and West is done so well... And when you reach the end of that movie you're treated to one of the most emotional farewells I've ever seen on screen. As brilliant as the opening music in the animated Ghost in the Shell was, so is the ending music in Merry Christmas Mr. Lawrence, by Ryuichi Sakamoto:

I cried... And then I listened again and cried again... Took me years to watch the movie a second time, because I remember how intensely sad I was at the end of it, but that's also what makes it soo good in my eyes...

Thanks so much for stopping by and sharing thoughts @yidneth :-) <3

Well, I have a crush on the Goblin King, let us not deny it, but I think Bowie was really an underrated actor and I think Merry Christmas, Mr. Lawrence prooves it. I've seen the movie and I remember fondly the iconic main theme of the soundtrack by Ryuichi Sakamoto

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64778.13
ETH 2531.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68